Chicken in Savory Lemon Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Ohmigosh this is fabulous! It is so easy and has that homemade comfort food factor--perfect for a cold night. I used the juice of a whole lemon (about 4 times the amount called for) and left out the peppers. Instead of cooking it on the stovetop, I put it in the oven in a covered casserole dish for about an hour at 325. I doubled the water called for to increase the sauce, and served it with steamed broccolli and plain brown rice. The sauce made a fabulous gravy for the rice. My husband called this a home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was so easy to make and delicious. My very picky 2 yr old even cleared his plate. I made few changes because I didn't have fresh parsley so I used dry parsley flakes and I doubled the lemon juice. My Husband said it is his new favorite chicken dish. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was good! I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs. My husband suggested the addition of some other veggies and then serve it over a bed of rice. I think next time I'll try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Great recipe. We enjoyed this dish for dinner tonight and found it to be very tasty. I did not have fresh lemons so I did not add the lemon slices. I did, though, double the lemon juice and water that I added. I did not have fresh parsley but the dried I had on hand was fine. I also added some chopped up onions in addition to the green peppers. The sauce spooned over the side of brown rice was delicious. I baked the chicken for 45 minutes at 350 degrees after first browning the chicken on the stop top. I'm sure this would be just as good in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Gliozzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Excellent. Very easy and delicious. On hand ingredients make this a go to dish at the crushing hour!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
We loved this recipe. I will make sure to take the advice of other reviews and double the lemon juice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This recipe was terrific! I would only add more lemon juice. I served it over rice and the whole family raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Easy to make, tastes wonderful. Everyone loved it. My husband said it's his new favorite recipe of mine and I should "always" make chicken this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I made this recipe and my family just loved it, even my fussy Son-in-law. It has been requested that I make this a lot more. There as a little left over and Mr. Fussy took it for lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
We love this recipe. I cut the chicken into chunks before cooking as I have bad luck with browning whole breast pieces. I also add some sundried tomatoes (not packed in oil - just the dry ones) for a little extra flavor and WOW - so good! We have tried this over rice as well as couscous and either one tastes really good. I also add garlic because I think I'm a garlic addict - it really adds something to this dish! Oh, and use real lemon juice instead of the bottled stuff - it just doesn't compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyn Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States