Chicken in Savory Lemon Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Ohmigosh this is fabulous! It is so easy and has that homemade comfort food factor--perfect for a cold night. I used the juice of a whole lemon (about 4 times the amount called for) and left out the peppers. Instead of cooking it on the stovetop, I put it in the oven in a covered casserole dish for about an hour at 325. I doubled the water called for to increase the sauce, and served it with steamed broccolli and plain brown rice. The sauce made a fabulous gravy for the rice. My husband called this a home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Did not care for this at all. Made it with a couple breast and a couple thighs and served it over rice. Just didn't like the flavor of it. It was edible but, I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was so easy to make and delicious. My very picky 2 yr old even cleared his plate. I made few changes because I didn't have fresh parsley so I used dry parsley flakes and I doubled the lemon juice. My Husband said it is his new favorite chicken dish. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was good! I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs. My husband suggested the addition of some other veggies and then serve it over a bed of rice. I think next time I'll try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was just okay. I may have used a little too much paprika (I just estimated instead of measuring, but I thought I was pretty close)? Not sure, but it was just "okay" and not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GradysMomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hollister, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Great recipe. We enjoyed this dish for dinner tonight and found it to be very tasty. I did not have fresh lemons so I did not add the lemon slices. I did, though, double the lemon juice and water that I added. I did not have fresh parsley but the dried I had on hand was fine. I also added some chopped up onions in addition to the green peppers. The sauce spooned over the side of brown rice was delicious. I baked the chicken for 45 minutes at 350 degrees after first browning the chicken on the stop top. I'm sure this would be just as good in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I liked this recipe although I believe that I will add more bell peppers next time. Really like the lemon in it. Served with the colcannon from this website and it was a very good combination. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Excellent. Very easy and delicious. On hand ingredients make this a go to dish at the crushing hour!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was pretty good and talk about easy. Mind you, I didn't even use the pepper because I didn't have any. I think a required ingredient though. I used dried parsley and bottled lemon juice. I can't wait to make it again using the exact called for ingredients!! Also may add some finely chopped shallots. Too easy I tell ya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Not bad. I made a few changes - I used chicken thighs with bone and skin and browned them for longer. I also used twice the liquid and replaced the water with 1/2 sherry, 1/2 chicken broth. I liked the flavor, but it had just a bit too much lemon. Definitely needed the sherry/broth in place of the water because it would have been too bland without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States