Chicken in Creamy Sun-Dried Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I've made this several times. It's part of our rotation. Changes? I don't like cream of chicken soup so I use cream of mushroom (sometimes homemade) but do have to add a few herbs to make up for the lack from the soup. I also don't like olives. I just leave them out. Oh and I use chicken thighs - only because my family likes them better. As to others that have rated this very poorly ("Too salty" "Too briny") Don't use artichokes from a can - use either frozen or jarred packed in water. Olives are very briny - choose some milder ones. Don't like the wine? Leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
So yummy! (I didn't use olives b/c I don't like them, but tossed in a little olive oil for flavor.) The dish color was exactly as pictured. Mysteriously, the sauce was like a restaurant-quality lemon-caper-wine sauce. We went nuts for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
From the title, I expected a sauce that tasted like Sun Dried Tomatoes, but instead, I was treated to a sauce heavily flavored with brine. The Combination of Kalamata olives, and canned artichoke hearts was overpowering, to say the least. I used the chicken broth instead of the white wine, as suggested, and I'm glad I did. If you ENJOY the pickled taste of canned artichoke hearts, and you enjoy the briny taste of Kalmata olives, then you will love this recipe. If you find either of those tastes distasteful, then this is not the recipe for you. They overpower the sun-dried tomatoes till the only thing they are good for is a splash of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was awsome, lots of taste added alot of fresh herbs too. Made the house smell wonderful thoughout the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Delicious! I was going to an italian-style potluck and wanted to bring something other than the expected ziti. This got many compliments! I didn't have white-wine, so I substitued with 4 oz cream cheese and 1/4 cup italian dressing. And I also did not have the capers. I used a whole box of noodles and 2 cooked half chicken breasts shredded. I mixed it all together, sprinkled the top with parmesan cheese, and baked it in a covered 9x13 dish at 350 for 45 minutes. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I tried this and we loved it, BUT my boyfriend takes so much allergy medication that his taste buds are a little insensitive. Has anyone tried it with the addition of garlic? or maybe lemon juice (or is that a no-no with the cream soup?)? Also, I used sun-dried tomatoes not packed in oil (boiled them first, of course) but wondered if others had had better results with the oil-packed variety
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I loved this recipe, it was so easy to do and something different for my crock-pot than a pot roast! I made it as is, except I added mushrooms instead of capers (don't like them). I served it with orzo sprinkled with parmesan cheese. My husband and I really liked this, and my 2 1/2 year old actually ate it too! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I made this without the cream of chicken soup (sorry, Campbell's) and added some chicken stock to the wine to make sure there was enough liquid to cook. After cooking, I added some goat cheese and cream for the creaminess. It was pretty tasty that way, but next time I'll drain off some of the liquid first to make a thicker sauce. Because it does turn brown after cooking as some people have said -- doesn't really look like the sauce in the picture -- I think next time I'll also add a can of diced fire-roasted tomatoes with the cream and goat cheese at the end, that would add more veggies and make for a more attractive color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is wonderful. I made it exactly as the recipe indicates, and it was a raving success with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Too creamy. I might try adding less condensed soup in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States