Chicken in Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Oh! MY! I made this recipe for dinner tonight, and it was absolutely delicious! I recommend highly that you try this recipe. At first, I thought that it was going to be too spicy with the jalapeños, but surprisingly, it was mild. I am not lying, this was restaurant good! And easy to make! This will be something I make again on a cold winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Awesome. Proud of myself for trying it and even more proud of my kids who loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
LOVED the flavor of this dish. I will be making it again and again. I followed the recipe as is but thickened the broth with a little flour at the end since i like it thicker. Thanks for the recipe!YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This recipe was DELICIOUS!! I did add some corn starch to thicken the sauce, though, but otherwise pretty much followed the directions exactly. Served it with Mexican rice, re-fried beans, and corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This recipe is amazing as written. I didn't make any alterations. I served it with Mexican rice per Chef John's suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Made this yesterday and my kids and hubby loved it! Not spicy at all for kids. I also made some Spanish rice with in and mixed it in with the chicken after serving them into individual bowls... thanks for a DELICIOUS and HEALTHY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Oh my goodness, this is one of the best meals I've ever made! I used 4 chicken legs with the thighs attached because I didn't want to take a whole chicken out and cut it up. It cooked faster, about 1 hour. Also, I was worried it would be too spicy for my kids, so I only added 1 jalapeño. It gave nice flavor, but no spice at all, so if you like a little zip I don't think both jalapeños and the cayenne pepper would be too much at all. I will put them all in next time. Amazing & awesome! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Prepared as recipe stated, but had two problems. The recipe listed sour cream as an option, which I used; however, this separated even though I did not even bring it to a boil. Very unappealing to the eye. Secondly, with the liquid listed, my chicken was not even close to submerged. I did add one more cup of liquid and equivalent spices so that the liquid was close to the top of the chicken. Flavor was good, but did not look good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Talk about great FLAVOR - this is it! Chef John has done it again. Perfect as written, no need to change a thing. As I was making this, I was second guessing the recipe - 'Maybe I should brown the chicken....' etc...etc... I decided to trust the recipe and I am so glad I did. One comment - there is a lot of chicken fat that needs to be skimmed off. If making this for company I would make the whole thing the day before - remove the chicken and vegetables - skim off as much fat as possible and refrigerate it - then skim off more fat once it had thoroughly chilled. Re-heat on low - make the rice and you have a wonderful, flavorful, easy meal. **** NOTE: You can use chicken pieces in this but they need to be bone in, skin on to give this dish that extra flavor. Remove the skin and bones prior to adding the chicken back into the sauce. Thanks Chef John for another keeper to add into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States