Chicken and Wild Rice Slow Cooker Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Tasteless!! And had I not added a container of chicken broth, would have been a gelatinous blob. I mixed up chicken bouillon, stronger than calls for and dumped it on each persons plate. Rice sucked it right up and it was a lot better. Disappointed because I know there are some great recipes out there for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I used frozen chicken breasts and it worked great. I was able to stir half way thru cooking which made a huge difference. I only had one box Uncle Bens wild rice, so used 2 more cups brown rice. Worked great. Added chicken bouillon to the water and chicken seasonings as well as garlic and onion powder. Everyone liked it. But we had enough for 3days, so I will put more veggies in next time, and maybe reduce the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I followed this recipe, thinking that my slow cooker was adequate. Wrong. You need something larger than a 2.5 quart cooker for this. The meal overflowed my cooker during cooking and pushed a generous portion of liquid out. The chicken didn't cook thoroughly, and I had to finish it in a skillet. Mechanical errors, nothing more. The food itself was good, but needed a little help. I tossed in a packet of onion soup mix, and it seasoned it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuart Merideth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I used 4 huge chicken breasts, cut into 8, used the carrots and it all fit perfectly. I used one can of crm of mushroom and two of the crm of chicken. So yes, I added some ground black pepper...added a little Kosher salt. Works very well. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made a few adjustments . I used one can cream mushroom an two cream of chicken. I also added onion powder, garlic salt, and chicken seasoning. 30 minutes before serving put shredded cheddar cheese on top. My entire family loved it including the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Love the taste and moisture in the chicken but the rice was way too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
It was good. I used wild rice mix (4boxes) and 3 chicken breast, everything else i followed direction. I agree with other, carrots aren't really necessary. I think I'll try adding some onion and bell peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Ok, next time I will read reviews instead of going "wow, I have all the ingredients". This was terrible and yes I did use Uncle Ben's Wild Rice - one with flavoring. For one thing the rice came out pasty and extremely bland. I thought seriously about adding ingredients but decided to stick the recipe. mistake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I had the computer reduce this recipe for 2 people and follwed it exactly but it came out like a paste. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
everyone who said it was bland, must've used plain wild rice. lol. very good. i cut back on chicken breasts and added boneless thighs.plus seasoned with a bit of garlic and chicken seasoning. turned out pretty good. ps .tw boxes of uncle ben :"SEASONED": long grain and wild rice was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tatorsaladno.1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States