Chicken and Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Needs more moisture to make it creamy. But good as is, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was very good! It is worth taking the time to simmer the in-bone breasts, although, they don't need a full hour, maybe 45 minutes. (The first time I made this I used boneless, skinless breasts and it is not nearly as good) After simmering the breasts for 45 minutes, you can break away pieces of the chicken off the bone, no need for a knife, its so tender. Also, I sauted fresh mushrooms in butter, garlic and salt, and used the seasoning packet from only one package of rice. I also used light sour cream - it tasted great without the extra fat. I supplumented my 6 oz box of rice with a brown/wild mix. Very Yummy! Also, I decreased the salt in step one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I used fresh mushrooms as well, which I cooked in a little bit of butter beforehand. It's baking in the oven and I can't wait to see how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe is very labor intensive, but definitely worth all the hard work! It is by far the yummiest chicken and rice casserole I've ever eaten. The only thing I would suggest is to cover the casserole with tin foil for the first 40 minutes of baking, and then remove the foil and bake uncovered for the remaining 20 minutes. I find that if I bake it uncovered for the whole hour, the top gets too crunchy and too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I use fresh mushrooms instead. I slice and then saute them in butter before I add them to the dish. I save some to place on the top of the casserole for a nice presentation. I've been serving this with a green salad and rolls for guests for years. It's a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I tried cooking this following the recipe as close as possible, and thought it turned out great! This is what I did- I put 3 lbs. of chicken in the pan, added 1 cup water and 1 cup Gewurztraminer (white wine) along with the other spices and veggies- ended up with over 4 cups of stock after I strained and removed solids. More than enough for this recipe, but you could probably add another cup or two because the stock is hella good. I cooked the rice following the directions from the box, but instead of using water, used the stock. Rice was killer by itself! Sauteed mushrooms in butter, then added them to the rice, chicken, sour cream, and soup (I suppose you could add the celery and onions left from the stock, but they're mushy...I didn't). Then cooked on 325 for 1 hour, covered in foil. My wife and I gobbled this stuff up like it was going out of style! Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My family LOVED this and that is a hard thing to accomplish. I changed the recipe around a bit but not too much. I cooked 4 chicken breasts in a crock pot on low for 5 hours. Then strained the chicken fat, added back in the chicken, the broth, 1/2 cup wine, the onions & curry and continued to cook for an hour. After an hour I shredded the chicken when I was mixing everything together but I added 1 1/2 cups of fresh mushrooms, a tsp of garlic powder, a tsp of salt powder, 1/4 of a tsp of cayenne pepper and 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese. I omitted the celery. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Good stuff. Too salty if you add the salt in the start. The wild rice mix has enough salt in it already. It makes enough a bunch and it was nice to have some to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessinthekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was fine, but definitely not enough liquid in the beginning. Make it two cups of wine and enough water to cover breasts. Also, it took me a lot longer to make then the recipe shows. I probably won't make this again. The taste just didn't match the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texasfairbaker
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is good but needs a can of celery soup and I used 3/4 cup of mayo and it adds a tangy taste to it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasfairbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States