Chicken and Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Mjjk (aka Sammy)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Sorry, but I agree with DREAMERSG04 and Kathleen. This dish would make so much more sense separated on the plate as a poached chicken breast, some sauteed mushrooms, some fresh celery, and some rice made with the curry/celery/chicken stock. Sour cream on the side, a soup of your choice as a starter. It certainly needs more stock/liquid--the texture of the dish straight out of the oven was poor (dry and crusted on top). I also used less of the seasoning package and it still was quite salty. The taste was good to quite good, but the presentation was poor. You couldn't quite tell what the dish was and the yellow cast from the curry gave it a kind of unhealthy yellow/grey cast. I did all the preparation the day before and the baking the next day as I ran out of time. Certainly most suitable for your family at home, but I wouldn't take it to a party. Update: Sept 12, 07: great news! I tried it as a 'skillet' dinner-- saute sliced onions on medium in a skillet and start rice in a saucepan. Add small, cubed chicken pieces to skillet and cover with lid to keep the juices in. Add curry powder and celery (if using), white wine (if using) and stir often. When the rice is almost done add the mushrooms, can of condensed soup, and sour cream to skillet. Turn the rice into the skillet and gently stir to combine. Simmer about 10 minutes or until desired consistancy. Looks awesome, tastes awesome and took only 45 minutes from start to finish. 10 out of 10!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This takes a little time to make but it is well worth it. My favorite chicken and wild rice casserole with a gourmet touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Very good and not time-consuming if you use leftover chicken. Kids loved it. Topped with french fried onions for the last 10 minutes or so, which added a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I just really did not like the flavor on this, but my husband and mother did. Prepare to spend around 3 or 4 hours making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BTHNYBEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moselle, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Not bad for a "cream of mushroom" recipe. I used carrots to make the broth and didn't add the cashews because I didn't want all the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
delicious casserole! it makes a ton of food, so unless you have a large family, be prepared to store some! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HANNAMFROST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
We love this recipe and we make it at least once or twice a month! We leave out the white wine, curry powder, and celery for the simple reason that we never have any of those ingredients on hand. I usually cook my wild rice in chicken broth instead of water and it makes the flavor go up 10 notches! I've even used fat-free sour cream and 98% fat-free cream of mushroom soup and cannot tell a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I thought this was a great starting recipe. When I cook, I usually just need guidelines for the ammount of what I need. (Cooking for seven to now just two is a huge change...) Some things I did different: 1. We didn't have any wine, so I used a sweet porter beer. (Excellent compliment to the curry.) 2. Added carrots. (For color mostly.) 3. Added more pepper and white pepper and an extra tablespoon of curry. 4. After straining the broth of the chicken, added the celery and onion pieces back in. I can see how it's a lot of work, but it does provide a LOT of food. There was enough to divide into three separate containers and freeze two! If you didn't add the curry or any extra spices, I can see how this would be bland and boring... but hey, it's cassarole. How bad can you screw it up by adding more? Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This was a big hit. Very easy & delicious! A little salty. I would recommend putting only 3/4 of the seasoning packet from the wild rice in to cut down on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This casserole was very tasty! It made enough to feed a large family and stores well for leftovers. The wine flavored the chicken nicely. I opted to omit the curry and celery (my husband hates both) and the can of mushrooms (personal preference) and it turned out fine. The curry wasn't missed at all with the wine, soup, wild rice mix, and onion to flavor. The only reason for 4 stars is that it does take a long time to prepare for a casserole. I would probably use boneless chicken in the future to save on work, but this was also a good dish to put cheap chicken legs to use even if it took more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States