Chicken and Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I have been making this recipe for years and even sell it to people as a frozen casserole. I use twice as much chicken though and use 1 pound of fresh, sliced and sauted in 3 T of butter mushrooms. I can freeze 2 STUFFED 8 x 8 aluminum pans or 1 STUFFED 9 x 13 pan. IT feezes SO well and I have NEVER made this for anyone and not been asked for the recipe. It is an absolute staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Very easy and tasty. Makes enough to feed a lot of people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
very bland, not much taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This recipe isn't very good at all! It's not very creamy and is quite bland. Also, there are too many mushrooms, and not enough chicken. I would definitely not recommend this casserole, especially since it requires a lot of labour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This casserole is delicious! However, some wild rice mixes take a while to cook (at least mine did). When I make this again, I will prepare the chicken and rice a day ahead of time, so I can quickly put it together after work. Otherwise, I will prepare it on the weekend when I have more time. I did put the chicken, onion, celery, water, wine and seasonings in a crock pot when I came home for lunch. However, my wild rice took at least an hour to cook. I ended up mixing everything together before the rice was done, and it finished cooking in the oven. We had a late dinner, but it was worth waiting for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
What a flavorful dish. Was great the night we made it and as leftovers. Used boneless breasts instead and halfed the wet ingredients, worked out wonderful. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I made this for a family gathering and it was hit! I used boneless chicken breast instead and sauteed fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Great recipe. A little time consuming, but worth it. It makes a lot, so it's great for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Somewhat mixed reviews on this one. I ate the casserole immediately after it was finished and I loved it!! (5 stars). My husband ate it five hours later and thought it was OK (3.5 stars). I took a bite then too, and I have to admit it didn't taste as good to me either. So, freshly prepared it's great but as leftovers, it's a bit less than great. This is relevant because it makes a huge amount! Probably 6 - 8 servings. Small point: to make 12 oz of rice according to my package directions you need 4 cups of liquid (way more than the 2 allowed for in the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
This was great! Finally a different idea for chicken. I don't know about your families, but mine wants meat and potatoes every night of the week. This was the perfect transition to a different meal. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States