Chicken and Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I just really did not like the flavor on this, but my husband and mother did. Prepare to spend around 3 or 4 hours making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BTHNYBEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moselle, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Not bad for a "cream of mushroom" recipe. I used carrots to make the broth and didn't add the cashews because I didn't want all the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
delicious casserole! it makes a ton of food, so unless you have a large family, be prepared to store some! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HANNAMFROST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
We love this recipe and we make it at least once or twice a month! We leave out the white wine, curry powder, and celery for the simple reason that we never have any of those ingredients on hand. I usually cook my wild rice in chicken broth instead of water and it makes the flavor go up 10 notches! I've even used fat-free sour cream and 98% fat-free cream of mushroom soup and cannot tell a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I thought this was a great starting recipe. When I cook, I usually just need guidelines for the ammount of what I need. (Cooking for seven to now just two is a huge change...) Some things I did different: 1. We didn't have any wine, so I used a sweet porter beer. (Excellent compliment to the curry.) 2. Added carrots. (For color mostly.) 3. Added more pepper and white pepper and an extra tablespoon of curry. 4. After straining the broth of the chicken, added the celery and onion pieces back in. I can see how it's a lot of work, but it does provide a LOT of food. There was enough to divide into three separate containers and freeze two! If you didn't add the curry or any extra spices, I can see how this would be bland and boring... but hey, it's cassarole. How bad can you screw it up by adding more? Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This was a big hit. Very easy & delicious! A little salty. I would recommend putting only 3/4 of the seasoning packet from the wild rice in to cut down on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This casserole was very tasty! It made enough to feed a large family and stores well for leftovers. The wine flavored the chicken nicely. I opted to omit the curry and celery (my husband hates both) and the can of mushrooms (personal preference) and it turned out fine. The curry wasn't missed at all with the wine, soup, wild rice mix, and onion to flavor. The only reason for 4 stars is that it does take a long time to prepare for a casserole. I would probably use boneless chicken in the future to save on work, but this was also a good dish to put cheap chicken legs to use even if it took more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Excellent recipe! I doubled the chicken and used fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TastyDish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This recipe is good, but not great. I was hoping for something more from this recipe, given I like the ingredients. I've had something similar to this recipe that I liked better. I agree with a previous review that said too much work for the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I made the mistake of making this while my husband was out of town. I ended up eating the whole thing over several days - thought I would never want it again because I ate so much, but a couple days later I found myself craving it again! Very tasty. I saved part of the solids from the broth and used them it the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States