Chicken and Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I use fresh mushrooms instead. I slice and then saute them in butter before I add them to the dish. I save some to place on the top of the casserole for a nice presentation. I've been serving this with a green salad and rolls for guests for years. It's a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I tried cooking this following the recipe as close as possible, and thought it turned out great! This is what I did- I put 3 lbs. of chicken in the pan, added 1 cup water and 1 cup Gewurztraminer (white wine) along with the other spices and veggies- ended up with over 4 cups of stock after I strained and removed solids. More than enough for this recipe, but you could probably add another cup or two because the stock is hella good. I cooked the rice following the directions from the box, but instead of using water, used the stock. Rice was killer by itself! Sauteed mushrooms in butter, then added them to the rice, chicken, sour cream, and soup (I suppose you could add the celery and onions left from the stock, but they're mushy...I didn't). Then cooked on 325 for 1 hour, covered in foil. My wife and I gobbled this stuff up like it was going out of style! Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My family LOVED this and that is a hard thing to accomplish. I changed the recipe around a bit but not too much. I cooked 4 chicken breasts in a crock pot on low for 5 hours. Then strained the chicken fat, added back in the chicken, the broth, 1/2 cup wine, the onions & curry and continued to cook for an hour. After an hour I shredded the chicken when I was mixing everything together but I added 1 1/2 cups of fresh mushrooms, a tsp of garlic powder, a tsp of salt powder, 1/4 of a tsp of cayenne pepper and 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese. I omitted the celery. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Good stuff. Too salty if you add the salt in the start. The wild rice mix has enough salt in it already. It makes enough a bunch and it was nice to have some to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessinthekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was fine, but definitely not enough liquid in the beginning. Make it two cups of wine and enough water to cover breasts. Also, it took me a lot longer to make then the recipe shows. I probably won't make this again. The taste just didn't match the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texasfairbaker
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is good but needs a can of celery soup and I used 3/4 cup of mayo and it adds a tangy taste to it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasfairbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I changed this one according to what I had, but such is the way of a casserole. For this, I didn't measure anything. I used one pkg of boneless/skinless breasts. To cut down on the time, I skipped the "Simmer for an hour" part. Didn't have any curry or celery. Used cayenne and (Frozen) mixed veggies instead. Nixed the 'shrooms. Used the spices from the rice. And fat free SC and soup. it was pretty good for the few things I had lying about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This is NOT a difficult recipe...I don't know why some think so. Use 2 rotisserie chickens to cut down the cooking time. Throw everything together and put into 3- 8x8 aluminum casserole dishes. Eat one...freeze the others. It is an awesome dish to have on hand for crazy evening when there's no time to cook, OR if a friend is sick and needs a dinner taken to their house. I add either French fried onion rings to the top, or crushed/buttered Ritz crackers. Also, my original recipe for this didn't call for curry powder...it's good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prosper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I altered the recipie and I can't give it 5 stars until I serve it tonight but i've cooked it and i Love it! My alterations were that I cooked rice separately, put Cream of chicken and water in pot with rice seasonings and then the veggies.Before I put in onions, and squash, I broiled to bring out the flavor. And I added diced sun dried tomatoes-1/2 tsp. I used half the curry, no salt. Last, dumped in my chicken I'd already cooded this week and some wheat germ. After it simmered a few minutes, I poured over the rice and I will serve later with some toasted breadcrumbs on top. It's very flavorful and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
My husband and I just loved this one!!! I like to be in the kitchen so I didn't mind the time involved. I did, however, add some chopped pimento and slivered almonds to the mix right before baking. I also used 1 1/2 C sour cream instead of the 1 C called for. I was not sure what to do with the celery and onions from boiling the chicken, so I drained it off and added it to the chicken mix. The recipe does not state whether the casserole is to be covered or not, so I baked it without cover for first 30 min. and then with cover for the last 30 min. I have been looking for a recipe to take to a church function - this is the one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresser, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States