Chicken and Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I loved this recipe. At first I tried it with frozen waffles and found that they were somewhat soggy at the end. On my second attempt I made savory spiced waffles in my waffle iron and found it was not soggy. To melt the cheese I put the sandwiches in my toaster oven. The family raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAouita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Way too much breading left over. I was reluctant to put all that cayenne pepper in for fear it would be too spicy, but it was good. Top waffle cold (frozen) and bottom waffle soggy. Chicken tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I'm giving this 5 stars for the chicken alone! Additional fried chicken hints I've picked up from commercial kitchens: The colder the chicken, the better for adherence. Slice boneless breasts (I used 3) into thick strips while still slightly frozen before soaking in the egg mixture, or soak in ice water first and use well-chilled eggs. Don't be afraid to really roll and gently squeeze the tenders if you want a good, thick, crusty coating; don't just shake them in the flour. 6 stars from my hungry 7yo son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Wow! This was a big hit with the entire family. The kids were full of ummmm's and yumm's and my husband couldn't stop raving about it. My husband gave it 11 out of 10 stars and my baby girl said it deserves infinity stars. Granted it is not the most healthy meal but it doesn't hurt to indulge every now and then. I made my own 9" waffles using one of the recipes on the site. I also used 4 good sized chicken breast that I cut into about 16 chicken tenders. From there I followed the recipe however I substituted horseradish for baconaise sauce, buttermilk instead of heavy cream, and 3 teaspoons of regular mustard instead of 1 teaspoon of dry mustard powder. We didn't have any bacon to go with these but it wasn't needed. Slapped some velveeta on these babies, broiled them, added the yummy sauce, a lil bit of lettuce, then pressed them down and sliced each one in half. Because I used 9" waffles they turned out HUGE!!! My husband was the only one that was able to finish his but not for lack of trying. I almost finished half of one, my 5 year old eat about 1/4 of one and my 7 and 13 year old also eat half. Between the 5 of us we could have gotten away with just 3 waffles instead of 4. I was skeptical about putting the mayonnaise sauce with spicy chicken and waffles but it was a delicious, flavorful, and unique experience. Excellent for a fathers day breakfast/brunch or any special occasion that requires a hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melicious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This recipe was great. The mayo combined with the maple syrup was really good (and I was skeptical). Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda K Miniken
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
My husband absolutely loved this recipe. I am not a fan of greasy food, but I liked it. The flavor is a perfect blend of sweet, salty and spicy. I made my own waffles, with Bisquick. However, the directions on the back of the box didn't give me enough waffles - but that has nothing to do with the directions for this recipe - just something to keep in mind if you use Bisquick. I added lettuce too - ya gotta have something fresh and green, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda K Miniken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
very good dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aggie12345

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
What a nice treat! I wouldn't want to have them on a regular basis, but these are very good. All the skeptics at my house loved them, as well. They would even be great for a rare breakfast treat! I was unsure about the sauce, but it was perfect. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Switzer!! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this tonight with rave reviews from the family...but I did modify a bit. Rather than serve as sandwiches, we opted for open face. And, I made homemade waffles. I used 1/2 the cayenne because of my 6-year old and didn't bother with the cheese. So, I placed sauce, bacon & chicken on top of my waffles and drizzled a little extra sauce over. Awesome dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
After reading the reviews for this recipe, I had very high hopes; surprisingly and unfortunately, they weren't met. I rated this higher than I felt my dinner was, because of some of the substitutions I had to make. I think part of the blame fell upon my choice of waffle, I used a buckwheat multi-grain Belgian and while they are excellent topped with fruit or syrup, the taste was off w/this recipe. The sauce was really good and was the favorite portion of tonight's dinner. For the chicken, I made 16 strips w/half the portions of the batter called for and still had some of each left over. I did run out of cayenne pepper at just over 3/4 TBS. I subbed in my mix of gluten free flours for the wheat flour. (This has become my go-to fried foods mix; I can actually say I like it so much more than wheat flour and even if I could eat wheat, I would use this mix for frying.) I used the other spices as directed and actually felt the chicken was rather plain. It was ok, but did not have the kick or flavor I was expecting. My family said it was good enough. I think next time I would stick w/my usual recipe for chicken tenders and adding more cayenne. I will try this again w/a more neutral tasting waffle and probably just use my flour recipe w/o the cornstarch. Also, I would recommend putting sauce on both the top and bottom waffles as well as it was a bit dry overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States