Chicken and Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This is actually pretty darn good. I even made my own waffles, though I think store bought ones would be just as good (and easier). The sweetness of the maple syrup contrasts really well with the spicy chicken. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This recipe is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Switzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This is a very good recipe, especially the chicken coating. I put buffalo sauce on the chicken and omitted the horseradish. Was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth's Special Recipes .

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Mercy! Good eatin'! I served with french fried sweet potatoes dusted with sugar and cinnamon; creamy coleslaw with some chopped jalepenos, celery seed and green onion. Might want to have an antacid around....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
yea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I used 4 chicken breasts that were cut smaller and lightly pounded instead of chicken tenders (or is that the same thing?). For the egg mixture, I only used a teaspoon of each seasoning as using a tablespoon of each seemed wasteful and unnecessary flavour-wise. That said, I would probably use an egg or two less next time and substituted soy milk for the heavy cream. For the dry mixture I omitted the salt. Next time I'd use a 1:1 ratio for the flour and cornstarch as there was plenty leftover, even after double dipping. I didn't have peanut oil, so I used vegetable oil. I did not deep-fry; I did them chicken in a pan with the oil as needed and did them in batches. The sauce is delicious! I probably used only a half cup of mayo (whatever was left in my small jar) and added everything it and shook it to combine. I didn't have prepared horseradish but had the dry (powder) kind so I used two teaspoons of that; I'd probably do 1:1 ratio for the mustard and horseradish powders next time. The maple syrup was spot on. Had to skip the bacon and used processed cheese slices. I used regular waffles this time around, but would use Belgian ones next time as they are larger and easier to grip (maybe make homemade cornmeal Belgian waffles? I seriously have to get a waffle-maker!). I also added lettuce and tomato to my sandwich. DELICIOUS! Served it with some cinnamon-spiced sweet potato fries from AR. Definitely going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
When I first saw this recipe, I really wanted to make it. I've heard about chicken and waffles for years but never tried them. What held me back was the hi calories of the recipe, so I used lower fat cal versions of the same items in this recipe and it was awesome. I used a morningstar farms chicken patti, nutrigrain waffles, weight watchers cheese and fat free mayo and turkey pepper bacon I add the cayenne that would have gone inthe chicken coating in the sauce. This turned out really well.. I loved it. I can only imagine how awesome it is with the higher cal ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very easy and super tasty. I'll be making this again. The only change I made was to also make homemade waffles instead of using frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justdawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
5 stars plus. This is a very different, yet incredibly awesome recipe, and it falls under the category of so odd that it has to be good. The sauce is what intrigued me about this one. It is absolutely tremendous. DO NOT change this recipe at all, or skimp and buy el cheapo chicken strips, even if you think they are good. Make this recipe exactly how it says to make it, with the exception of the waffles. Make fresh waffles. Frozen waffles have no flavor, and if you get a nice, sweet waffle mix, the contrast between the sweetness of the waffles and the sauce, and the saltiness of the bacon along with the heat of the chicken is an awesome combination. I have made this for many many groups of friends, and everyone says it is absolutely delicious, and wonderfully unique. If you get complaints on this one, you made it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States