Chicken and Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
What a nice treat! I wouldn't want to have them on a regular basis, but these are very good. All the skeptics at my house loved them, as well. They would even be great for a rare breakfast treat! I was unsure about the sauce, but it was perfect. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Switzer!! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this tonight with rave reviews from the family...but I did modify a bit. Rather than serve as sandwiches, we opted for open face. And, I made homemade waffles. I used 1/2 the cayenne because of my 6-year old and didn't bother with the cheese. So, I placed sauce, bacon & chicken on top of my waffles and drizzled a little extra sauce over. Awesome dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
After reading the reviews for this recipe, I had very high hopes; surprisingly and unfortunately, they weren't met. I rated this higher than I felt my dinner was, because of some of the substitutions I had to make. I think part of the blame fell upon my choice of waffle, I used a buckwheat multi-grain Belgian and while they are excellent topped with fruit or syrup, the taste was off w/this recipe. The sauce was really good and was the favorite portion of tonight's dinner. For the chicken, I made 16 strips w/half the portions of the batter called for and still had some of each left over. I did run out of cayenne pepper at just over 3/4 TBS. I subbed in my mix of gluten free flours for the wheat flour. (This has become my go-to fried foods mix; I can actually say I like it so much more than wheat flour and even if I could eat wheat, I would use this mix for frying.) I used the other spices as directed and actually felt the chicken was rather plain. It was ok, but did not have the kick or flavor I was expecting. My family said it was good enough. I think next time I would stick w/my usual recipe for chicken tenders and adding more cayenne. I will try this again w/a more neutral tasting waffle and probably just use my flour recipe w/o the cornstarch. Also, I would recommend putting sauce on both the top and bottom waffles as well as it was a bit dry overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I stumbled upon this by accident, and it intrigued me, so I just had to try it...What a great find! This was really, REALLY good! I was worried that the amount of cayenne would be too much, but it was actually perfect, and made a nice balance of spicy/sweet w/ the maple syrup mayo, which was yummy. Made as written and would not change a thing! This is a nice change from the usual chicken sandwich, and one that I will def be making again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Wow - what an awesome surprise!! These were so delicious and we didn't change a thing!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Very good but very fatty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I give this a five. I didn't make as a sandwich but placed the chicken on the waffle and drizzled with honey. The sweet and salty flavor works well together. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I chose this for the fried chicken recipe. I used waffle mix for waffles, and didn't make it into a sandwich. My family wouldnt' eat it if I used the sandwich. The fried chicken part is flawless, but I felt needed a tad more salt. I never add salt to my food, but thought this needed a bit more. It really worked well. It was my second time to fry chicken, and this recipe works! The secret must be the 20 minute rest time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This recipe was disgustingly delicious. I vote we rename it The Ultimate Bachelor Sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TVdinnerConnoisseur

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Had chicken and waffles in a restaurant for the first time a few weeks ago. I wanted to try to make it and found this recipe. Amazing!!! Much better than what I had in the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States