Chicken and Two Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Great chili! I made a couple of changes though. I didn't boil the chicken, I cooked it in a skillet. Since I hate the taste of black beans, I threw in red kidney beans instead. These are real minor changes. Next time and believe me there will be a next time, I will turn the 'heat down'! I used the Rotel tomatoes with green chili peppers, next time I'll use just 1 can of Rotel and the other can will be just diced tomatoes. Thanks Ash and Steve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is awesome chili. I substituted ground turkey but I bet it's great with chicken too. The flavor is wonderfully complex, first you taste the brown sugar sweetness, the the bell pepper, and finally a touch of heat. We usually share when I make big pots of chili, but my husband and I ate it all ourselves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ray, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Not bad. I used canned chicken because I was in a hurry and skipped the corn bc we didnt' have any in the freezer like I thought we did. Bf didn't like the sweetness of this so I'd leave out the sugar next time, but otherwise it was decent enough. Good for a quick meal, at any rate. We ate over rice and with a side of mixed veggies. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was very good. I replaced the bell peppers with celery and grated zuchini for allergy reasons. Added in some cacoa and chilli seasoning and added some polenta as I think I added toomuch water. Used oregano and mixed bottled chillis as I had them round. served with salad and cheese baked nacho chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
A friend made this chili at a cookoff this summer and won first place! This was out of 20 types of chili. I've done the opposite of what others did and added more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
this was teriffic!Reduced the brown sugar to 3 tbsp. and added a small can of tomatoe paste after reading reviews.Will certainly make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This recipe is awesome!!! The flavors are great. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
These are the changes I made to make this a five star ....Used a pound of extra lean ground chicken, one 14oz can of fire roasted, one 28oz can crushed tomatoes, 2tblspns brown sugar, 1tblspn red wine vinegar, added 1tblspn dried oregano, instead of yellow pepper used a diced zucchini. Otherwise kept all other ingredients the same. I made this on the stove top and it was excellent. Served with shredded cheddar and some diced avacado. Really a very good chili. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Chicken Two Bean Chili Haiku: "Crestfallen chili. Tomato sauce overload. Needed several tweaks." I had such high hopes for this chili, especially since upon walking in the door from work, I salivated at its chirping-in-the-crockpot-all-day aroma. Unfortunately, I couldn't get over the overwhelming tomato sauce taste. I followed the recipe exactly as written, w/ the exception of using fresh cilantro (1/4 c. finely-chopped) instead of dried, and reducing the brown sugar to 1/4 c. (Although should I make this again, I would probably drop it to 2 TB instead.) For all of the wonderful flavors that went into it, I just tasted what I could only describe as tomato soup w/ chicken and beans. It's a good recipe that just needs a few changes, such as less tomato sauce, or none at all (possibly a small can tomato paste and more chicken stock?) and definitely less brown sugar, to evolve into a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States