Chicken and Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Hit the spot/easy! I did add a little to the recipe like green onions, more tomatoes, and some spices. It was a little bland in the original form for me. I was looking for something light and easy- this was the trick. (Note: the veggies were really soft so hope you like that.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuLuinthekitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: La Plata, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Wonderful!!! I omitted the butter because it burned quickly in the bottom of the pan and instead of vegetable oil, I used olive oil as a healthy alternative. Also, I cooked the chicken for 2 minutes per side as directed and then moved it into a separate dish. I then added the cut up squash, zucchini, and tomato with the peel to the pan and cooked the vegetables for approximately 5 minutes. After that, I added the chicken in with the vegetables and allowed it to finish cooking together. Season slightly with salt and pepper. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Definitely bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
i like this recipe a lot and i make it often. it's easy to alter according to what you have on hand. i've made it with fresh tomatoes and canned, and they are both good, but the fresh is best. sometimes i throw in some fresh mushrooms, and if i only have squash or zucchini but not both, it still turns out fine. also, i use paula deen's seasoning on the chicken when i brown it instead of just salt and pepper. i don't think it is bland at all. i don't let all the juice cook off and i serve with orzo or rice. it's a good, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This recipe surprised me. I found it looking through the daily photos and decided to try it to use some squash from our CSA and a package of chicken breasts. It was yummy. I did add some garlic and onion to the veggie saute and a few mushrooms that were floating around my fridge. Oh, and a splash of Chardonnay. I also had some leftover fire roasted diced tomatoes that I used rather than the fresh. It was very popular with my little girls too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I like this recipe. I used chicken cutlets, and salted, peppered and then added garlic powder and some dried basil. When I flipped them I did the same on the second side. I used yellow squash, zucchini and tomato like the original recipe. There was not a lot of fat to drain so I just used the juices, and spices to flavor the squash a bit. I am not a veggie lover, but this is a very palateable meal for me to eat a lot of tasty veggies. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethmorris1125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brecksville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Great simple recipe to make on a weeknight! I used olive oil instead of butter, cut the chicken into strips, omitted the tomatoes and added onion, Italian seasoning, and garlic powder. The chicken and veggies were great over couscous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
With the addition of garlic, basil, oregano, rosemary, parsley and marjoram this was edible. But flavorful and memorable it was not. I think this would be a good recipe for someone recovering from surgery or a stomach ailment as it was very bland and lightly spiced. If your favorite foods are boiled potatoes, lime jello and grilled cheese sandwiches on white bread, then you will LOVE this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I took the hint of "too bland" and added some green onion and garlic. Had some mexican style stewed tomatoes left over from the night before so added them vs the "real" tomatoe. Delish! And such a quick recipe. I cut the chicken breasts in half and still cooked them at times posted in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Simple, easy and delicious. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Badajoz, Extremadura, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States