Chicken and Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This meal was extremely bland. Though healthy, it was lacking in flavor. I would suggest adding more tomatoes to add flavor and also, when sauteing the veges, add fresh garlic, onions, and additional seasonings (basil, oregano, etc.) This is a great idea for a meal, you just need to get creative with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I don't really understand the "bland" comments. I think salt, pepper and a little fat (olive oil, butter) are all you need: chicken should taste like chicken, zucchini like zucchini. Hey, I'm all for bold flavors and spicy foods, but sometimes simple equals better. Treat your ingredients with care; don't overcook your chicken; season it well, and you have a fabulous meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
I made this for dinner; it was fast and yummy! I added some fresh sliced mushrooms, 1 tsp of minced garlic, and used a can of stewed tomatoes instead of the tomatoe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This was really delicious! Any changes made were because I wanted to add additional vegetables - not because of the recipe itself. I added onion, garlic, fresh mushrooms and a handful of fresh peas and Italian parsley. I really changed no seasonings. I did only use EVOO - no butter. One of the other reviews said, what's wrong with plain chicken - in this instance - nothing. This was a hit in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This is a really simple and delicious meal! I omitted the butter and vegetable oil and just used olive oil instead. Instead of the tomato, I substituted with a can of diced tomatoes. I cut the chicken into strips and then sauted with seasonings, and then added the canned tomatoes and squash/zucc and sauted all together. This was really yummy! I've made it a few times already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Yummy! This was so easy to make, and my husband really liked it. I used up left over grilled chicken breast from the night before. For veggies I added: zucchini, mushrooms, green onions, and a tomato. For seasoning I added: salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a montreal steak seasoning that jumped out at me. Very good especially for low carb eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Brooklet, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
This was delicious. The second time I made it I added fresh green beans, as much squash as would fit in the skillet, and 3 tomatoes. Ground pork also works in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I loved this. My brother and husband found it a little bland, though they liked it enough to eat it. I thought it had plenty of flavor and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
I tried this recipe due to the fact that it looked very straight forward and was healthy. It came out great and I had no troubles putting it all together as I am hopeless in the kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Warren & Mary Murray
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Great recipe. I made a chicken rub from salt, pepper, cumin, and ground ginger. I also added onions, two cloves of garlic, yellow bell pepper, and fresh mushrooms to the veggies. I sprinkled with dried basil in addition to salt and pepper. No problem with blandness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren & Mary Murray

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States