Chicken and Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I think the problem that people are having is that this recipe is listing WAY TOO much water for the amount of flour and eggs used. This really only needs like 2 tablespoons of water. I have been making pasta for a while now with my kitchenaid and the basic recipe I use is 4 large eggs, 4 cups flour, 2 tbls water, 1 tsp salt... try that. The dough will be pretty stiff and if you arent using a pasta roller you may need to soften if up just a tad but much easier to add a tsp of water at a time to get the right consistency than cups of flour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Whisenhunt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This recipe was great. But I used store bought wonton wrappers instead of making my own dough from scratch. It went a lot quicker and the results were great. Everyone loved the dish. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
My first attempt at ravioli! The recipe was easy to follow and quite delicious... the filling had a wonderful flavor. I made a simple tomato sauce for these, and the combined dish had a very fresh taste. It was well-received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
The chicken and spinach mixture smells terrible. After mixing it up with the spices and cooking it I thought it might be edible. When I served it my 3 year old daughter said 'I don't like that green stuff' but my wife sealed the deal when she said she was trying to be nice and congratulated me for the effort as she proceeded to empty 2 or 3 ravioli of their contents. I ate some of the shells. Then I left the table, repulsed by the smell of the filling sitting on my plate. I am in the other room writing this review and trying not to think about it so I don't have to make a trip to the bathroom to throw up. If you use the shell recipe, you'd have to be made out of teflon to make it work. Try multiplying the flour by 150% and then you might have a fighting chance at creating the raviolis, much less removing them from whatever surface they are placed on to put into the boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Excellent recipe...tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
My husband and I loved these! Very similar to what my grandmother makes. One small change I've added from grandma's recipe- instead of 3/4 cup water for the dough, I used 3/4 cup mashed potatoes. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
My first time at making homemade Ravioli! It was fun - do make sure to roll out the dough VERY THIN. I probably won't process the filling as much as I did, I'd like it chucky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Excellent recipe, even better when you add some fresh mushroom pieces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
My husband liked this. The filling was great. However, I would look elsewhere for the pasta dough. It was too difficult to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was my first time making pasta, let alone ravioli. I loved making this dish, however I felt the filling was a little too dry. I'd put more oil or butter in it to moisten it up a little bit. Also, I don't think it's completely necessary to cool the ravioli off completely. The hot sauce isn't always enough to warm it up completely to serve. I had a grea ttime making it though and it tasted delicious. I used left over meat mix to make a lasagna aftewards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States