Chicken and Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Prepare for 4 hours in the kitchen. Dont attempt this without a pasta roller. I could not get the pasta thin enough to enjoy. I had to add cheese on top to take away the dryness. Not a bad evening project, but I found that it works best to use 4" squares of pasta and cut off the extra..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Should have listened to my gut (and the other reviewers). There was way too much water in the dough. It was completely unworkable and I had to throw it all away =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This WAS a lot of work! I substituted broccoli for the spinach and also added mushrooms and fresh garlic instead of powder. We had no problem with lack of flavor with this. I thought I rolled the pasta thin enough, but WOW, it tripled in size. Next time I will make it paper-thin and may even do 1" to 1.5" size squares as the 2" ended up expanding to the size of my hand. I had a lot of the chicken/broccoli stuffing left over so I will try and stuff them to the max next time. This time I just added the leftover mix to the sauce and it was great. Definitely something fun to do when you have the time! Also, for the pasta I used 100% whole wheat, organic flour to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I think the problem that people are having is that this recipe is listing WAY TOO much water for the amount of flour and eggs used. This really only needs like 2 tablespoons of water. I have been making pasta for a while now with my kitchenaid and the basic recipe I use is 4 large eggs, 4 cups flour, 2 tbls water, 1 tsp salt... try that. The dough will be pretty stiff and if you arent using a pasta roller you may need to soften if up just a tad but much easier to add a tsp of water at a time to get the right consistency than cups of flour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Whisenhunt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
We changed some things, but only because we didn't have all of the ingredients; cooked the chicken with fresh spinach, put in the food processor with roasted garlic, cheddar and a splash of my homemade veggi marinara. I was suprised how well the man did with the pasta, but it was a lot of work. Not a dish I would do for a quickie, but we love, love, loved this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseykai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
it was ok. I nixed the spinach (husband doesn't do veggies!) but the mixture was pretty good. my first attempt at homemade pasta.... it was ok. here are things i would do differently: 1. Roll the pasta out very very thin 2. Make the strips wider (4 inches??) 3. Put less filling on My biggest issue was getting the ravioli to stay sealed.... all my filling came out. Not sure what i did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was a great recipe. The filling was a little bland for my taste to next time I will use fresh garlic instead of powdered. Also, pasta dough is all about experience. Too sticky and it won't form well, kneaded too much and it won't roll well. You can add flour to compensate for too much water, and just knead until it is elastic and holds together. I didn't let mine rest in the refrigerator, just covered in a bowl on the counter and it was workable enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerdmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I made this tonight and it was actually quite fun. Make sure you roll the dough VERY thing as they tend to 'blow up' in size once cooked. I made a homemade marinara to top it off with and it was superb. I did not have nutmeg so I put a little tiny shake of ginger in instead. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
i would never make this recipe again...sorry...i really dun like giving bad reviews....firstly the spinach and the chicken stuffing in the ravioli was bland...i love pasta but this was just tasteless...i experimented on my boyfriend and sister and they didnt even finish 3 pieces of ravioli...i dough for the ravioli was just too hard and took a long time to cook...i didnt have the proper machine to roll the dough into 1/8th an inch...i used a rolling pin and it took ages to get it rolled that thin...not to mention it was tiring as well...the stuffing seemed too watery and when placed on the dough it didnt stay in shape and the dough eventually got soaked with the moisture of the stuffing...ill never make this again...took too much time and preparation...sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
My first time at making homemade Ravioli! It was fun - do make sure to roll out the dough VERY THIN. I probably won't process the filling as much as I did, I'd like it chucky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States