Chicken and Snap Pea Wild Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I am the author of this recipe and just wanted to note that I use whatever oil I have on hand and I also don't blanch the peas- I like the snap. I wanted to remain true to the original recipe given to me when I submitted it, but thought it was worth mentioning the above. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This is a five-star recipe for me! I could inhale the dressing! I can hardly wait for my family to try this one! Now I'm sorry I cut the recipe in half! I was glad to see that the author of the recipe doesn't blanch the peas because I would not have, either. I forgot to get the parsley, so that wasn't included in my version, and I did get a little heavy handed on the onions, garlic, and almonds. My sister, who sends me the wild rice from Wisconsin, will love this recipe! Thank you very much! EDIT: I tasted this several hours into refrigeration, and I think what happened is that the rice soaked up all the lovely dressing. So I made more and added it just before serving it. And now I even have a bit of that left over for another purpose! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
very yummy. I didn't have wild rice, but used black rice instead since it has a nice nutty and sweet flavor. made the rest as is and would love to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
The rice base and dressing is really tasty. Tried it with a little less oil and mushrooms, as I had no snap peas, but did everything else according to the proposed recipe. Room for play; will try this with shrimp, aspargus, dill, broccoli. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Excellent and very flavorful. Only gave it four stars because I modified the recipe. I substituted the Tarragon vinegar w/ white wine vinegar and the safflower oil w/ EVOO as both were hard to find in the store. I also used half the amount of crushed red pepper. This would be a good salad to make at the beginning of the week to eat throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I used white wine vinegar since I didn't have tarragon vinegar, used raw snap peas and added some sliced red grapes which were a very tasty addition to the flavors. Very versatile recipe. Everyone loved this at Christmas 2011 as a side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle Pines, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very nice I used 1 tsp powdered mustard , wine vinegar and peas Also added quinoa to the rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I probably shouldn't rate this recipe because I didn't have tarragon vinegar or dried tarragon, but I thought I'd share my opinion that it turned out too "greasy". I would lighten up on the oil if I were to make it again. I liked the little bit of heat in it, but thought it was more work than it was worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetadharmony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
My husband found this recipe and it has been a huge hit at several parties!! So delicious I can eat it for breakfast, lunch & dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States