Chicken and Snap Pea Wild Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I am the author of this recipe and just wanted to note that I use whatever oil I have on hand and I also don't blanch the peas- I like the snap. I wanted to remain true to the original recipe given to me when I submitted it, but thought it was worth mentioning the above. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This is a five-star recipe for me! I could inhale the dressing! I can hardly wait for my family to try this one! Now I'm sorry I cut the recipe in half! I was glad to see that the author of the recipe doesn't blanch the peas because I would not have, either. I forgot to get the parsley, so that wasn't included in my version, and I did get a little heavy handed on the onions, garlic, and almonds. My sister, who sends me the wild rice from Wisconsin, will love this recipe! Thank you very much! EDIT: I tasted this several hours into refrigeration, and I think what happened is that the rice soaked up all the lovely dressing. So I made more and added it just before serving it. And now I even have a bit of that left over for another purpose! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
very yummy. I didn't have wild rice, but used black rice instead since it has a nice nutty and sweet flavor. made the rest as is and would love to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
The rice base and dressing is really tasty. Tried it with a little less oil and mushrooms, as I had no snap peas, but did everything else according to the proposed recipe. Room for play; will try this with shrimp, aspargus, dill, broccoli. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Excellent and very flavorful. Only gave it four stars because I modified the recipe. I substituted the Tarragon vinegar w/ white wine vinegar and the safflower oil w/ EVOO as both were hard to find in the store. I also used half the amount of crushed red pepper. This would be a good salad to make at the beginning of the week to eat throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I used white wine vinegar since I didn't have tarragon vinegar, used raw snap peas and added some sliced red grapes which were a very tasty addition to the flavors. Very versatile recipe. Everyone loved this at Christmas 2011 as a side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle Pines, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very nice I used 1 tsp powdered mustard , wine vinegar and peas Also added quinoa to the rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I probably shouldn't rate this recipe because I didn't have tarragon vinegar or dried tarragon, but I thought I'd share my opinion that it turned out too "greasy". I would lighten up on the oil if I were to make it again. I liked the little bit of heat in it, but thought it was more work than it was worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetadharmony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
My husband found this recipe and it has been a huge hit at several parties!! So delicious I can eat it for breakfast, lunch & dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States