Chicken and Sliders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This was one of my late grandmother's specialties and one of my favorites. As a kid hanging around her kitchen she would let me help roll and cut the noodles. As some have mentioned, the chicken can be served separately from the noodles and gravy. The gravy by itself, if properly thickened, works well over mashed potatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I LOVE sliders. In our family however, we make it with pork. We buy a fairly inexpensive pork roast and "stew" it like you do a chicken, with onions, celery and chicken broth. Then, make the sliders and continue as with the chicken recipe. It is SO yummy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBWALTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
my family really liked this dish. I made a couple of changes, though. After straining the stock, and removing meat from bones, i added diced celery, carrots, and onions to broth. I let these simmer while I prepared the sliders. This made a tasty and nutritious addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Msmario, I always knew this dish by the name "putzin" too! You are the first person to use the same name. Sometimes when I call it "putzin" people think I mean Poutine , which is totally different...but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CathyW
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
My mother-in-law grew up during the depression and her French Canadian grandmother taught her how to make this recipe. I am rating this one a "five" with some minor changes. This recipe calls for 4 cups of flour, which is too much, leading to the "tough, chewy" texture that some reviewers are complaining about. Start with 3 cups of flour, 1 cup of broth and 2 eggs. The mixture will be a bit sticky, so I turn the dough onto a floured silpat (a silicone mat) and gently work in a bit more flour and then roll it out fairly thin. Then I use a pizza cutter to cut the sliders. Tonight I made the recipe more brothy, like chicken soup, but I've also made it thicker. My husband's family loves it over mashed potatoes---starch nirvana! I also like to add some dried herbs, a little garlic powder and a few bouillon cubes to the chicken while it is cooking for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
This is just like the chicken and noodles my Grandma used to make when I was a child. Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
WOW! I have been looking for an old-fashioned chicken and noodles recipe for a while now. This one fits the bill. At the end, to the reserved broth, I added cooked carrots, celery, onion, celery seed, and a little sage to augment the heartiness of the gravy mixture. THIS IS A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This was very good, but I only loosely followed it...I used 2 chicken breasts and 2 thighs with loads of fresh basil from the garden, a touch of red pepper, and loads of sauteed garlic. I didn't have celery on hand so I used carrots, green pepper and broccoli from the garden. For the noodles I went 50/50 white/wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEANZILLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I have been searching for this recipe! I grew up with this meal. It was always a family favorite and a great meal for our entire family to share together in the winter, all the cousins, aunts, uncles, grandparents. We made "sliders" a family event! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I can't wait to feel like a kid again with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
OK! Wonderful, is the best word to describe this meal. I loved making my own noodles. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States