Chicken and Sliders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This was very good, but I only loosely followed it...I used 2 chicken breasts and 2 thighs with loads of fresh basil from the garden, a touch of red pepper, and loads of sauteed garlic. I didn't have celery on hand so I used carrots, green pepper and broccoli from the garden. For the noodles I went 50/50 white/wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEANZILLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
WOW! I have been looking for an old-fashioned chicken and noodles recipe for a while now. This one fits the bill. At the end, to the reserved broth, I added cooked carrots, celery, onion, celery seed, and a little sage to augment the heartiness of the gravy mixture. THIS IS A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I have been searching for this recipe! I grew up with this meal. It was always a family favorite and a great meal for our entire family to share together in the winter, all the cousins, aunts, uncles, grandparents. We made "sliders" a family event! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I can't wait to feel like a kid again with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
This is just like the chicken and noodles my Grandma used to make when I was a child. Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
OK! Wonderful, is the best word to describe this meal. I loved making my own noodles. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
my family really liked this dish. I made a couple of changes, though. After straining the stock, and removing meat from bones, i added diced celery, carrots, and onions to broth. I let these simmer while I prepared the sliders. This made a tasty and nutritious addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This was one of my late grandmother's specialties and one of my favorites. As a kid hanging around her kitchen she would let me help roll and cut the noodles. As some have mentioned, the chicken can be served separately from the noodles and gravy. The gravy by itself, if properly thickened, works well over mashed potatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I LOVE sliders. In our family however, we make it with pork. We buy a fairly inexpensive pork roast and "stew" it like you do a chicken, with onions, celery and chicken broth. Then, make the sliders and continue as with the chicken recipe. It is SO yummy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBWALTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Msmario, I always knew this dish by the name "putzin" too! You are the first person to use the same name. Sometimes when I call it "putzin" people think I mean Poutine , which is totally different...but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Wiechert
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
My mother-in-law grew up during the depression and her French Canadian grandmother taught her how to make this recipe. I am rating this one a "five" with some minor changes. This recipe calls for 4 cups of flour, which is too much, leading to the "tough, chewy" texture that some reviewers are complaining about. Start with 3 cups of flour, 1 cup of broth and 2 eggs. The mixture will be a bit sticky, so I turn the dough onto a floured silpat (a silicone mat) and gently work in a bit more flour and then roll it out fairly thin. Then I use a pizza cutter to cut the sliders. Tonight I made the recipe more brothy, like chicken soup, but I've also made it thicker. My husband's family loves it over mashed potatoes---starch nirvana! I also like to add some dried herbs, a little garlic powder and a few bouillon cubes to the chicken while it is cooking for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Wiechert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States