Chicken and Sliders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cathy Wiechert
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
My mother-in-law grew up during the depression and her French Canadian grandmother taught her how to make this recipe. I am rating this one a "five" with some minor changes. This recipe calls for 4 cups of flour, which is too much, leading to the "tough, chewy" texture that some reviewers are complaining about. Start with 3 cups of flour, 1 cup of broth and 2 eggs. The mixture will be a bit sticky, so I turn the dough onto a floured silpat (a silicone mat) and gently work in a bit more flour and then roll it out fairly thin. Then I use a pizza cutter to cut the sliders. Tonight I made the recipe more brothy, like chicken soup, but I've also made it thicker. My husband's family loves it over mashed potatoes---starch nirvana! I also like to add some dried herbs, a little garlic powder and a few bouillon cubes to the chicken while it is cooking for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Wiechert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This was really good! The sliders are a little chewy, I'm not sure if I did something wrong, and it doesn't say how thin to roll out the dough, so maybe I could roll it thinner next time. I added baby carrots to the broth while making the sliders. I also prepared the chicken the day before and put the broth in the fridge, so I was able to remove all of the fat off the top. My family loved it too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I LOVE sliders. In our family however, we make it with pork. We buy a fairly inexpensive pork roast and "stew" it like you do a chicken, with onions, celery and chicken broth. Then, make the sliders and continue as with the chicken recipe. It is SO yummy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBWALTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
WOW! I have been looking for an old-fashioned chicken and noodles recipe for a while now. This one fits the bill. At the end, to the reserved broth, I added cooked carrots, celery, onion, celery seed, and a little sage to augment the heartiness of the gravy mixture. THIS IS A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
This is just like the chicken and noodles my Grandma used to make when I was a child. Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is an excelent recipe! Myself I like the broth left a little less thick. Probably because thats how my mother always made it. Also as a variation, after boiling the chicken a little garlic butter rub and some simple seasoning on the skin of the chicken and bake in the oven to crisp the skin. Chicken served on the side instead of in the soup itself. At any rate - Still very good - excelent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tilbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I have been searching for this recipe! I grew up with this meal. It was always a family favorite and a great meal for our entire family to share together in the winter, all the cousins, aunts, uncles, grandparents. We made "sliders" a family event! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I can't wait to feel like a kid again with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This was very good, but I only loosely followed it...I used 2 chicken breasts and 2 thighs with loads of fresh basil from the garden, a touch of red pepper, and loads of sauteed garlic. I didn't have celery on hand so I used carrots, green pepper and broccoli from the garden. For the noodles I went 50/50 white/wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEANZILLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
My husband and I just loved this recipe. The dough was fantastic to work with by using my mixer with the dough hook and rolling it out using my pasta machine. The only problem I had was thickening the gravy. My pasta had no extra flour on it so my gravy wasn't thick enough. Next time I'll thicken it with extra flour. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Thank you so much for this recipe. My family really liked it. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken and it worked great. I also found that a pizza cutter worked well to cut the noodles. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States