Chicken and Sliders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
awesome recipe, i had been looking for this recipe for along time, my grandmother use to make this, but she called it popeye, dont ask me why. totally rocks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I thought I would never get to eat this again. My Mimi used to make this for our family when we went t Windsor to see her and it was always my favorite. I never thought to google it and when I did this was the first on the list. Thank YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was really good. I had to add quite a bit of chicken boullion, crazy salt, and salt and pepper for flavor as the broth didn't have much flavor to it. Otherwise reminded me of a great homecooked southern meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was a hit with my family. It tasted like the perfect "chicken and dumplin'" recipe I'd been looking for. I did not have bay leaves, so I used seasoned salt, pepper, and sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This is so simple and delicious! There wasn't much broth left the second day after having soaked into the sliders, but still so tasty nonetheless. I agree with others that this really needs some veggies in order to make it a more complete meal. I placed lettuce at the bottom of my bowl as I filled it and it was cooked nicely simply from the soup itself. The chicken comes out so tender it's very easy to de-bone. Additional spices could be added if desired. I really believe one has to stick with the home-made pasta for this one! "Sliders" where did that term come from? I always thought it referred to mini-burgers of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
a marvelous comfort food with very satisfing taste. Make the sliders thin so they cook through quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jowolf2
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Good basic recipe. I added my favorite spices to the broth to add more flavour. I also added some veggies to the finished product for a more "complete" meal. I had never made homemade noodles before so i had no idea how much broth to add. I ended up adding almost a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is the best soup. We used to call them slipdowns instead of sliders. So easy and cheap to make exspecailly now adays .... we make it with what ever meat we have around it works great with it all..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CathyW
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
My mother-in-law grew up during the depression and her French Canadian grandmother taught her how to make this recipe. I am rating this one a "five" with some minor changes. This recipe calls for 4 cups of flour, which is too much, leading to the "tough, chewy" texture that some reviewers are complaining about. Start with 3 cups of flour, 1 cup of broth and 2 eggs. The mixture will be a bit sticky, so I turn the dough onto a floured silpat (a silicone mat) and gently work in a bit more flour and then roll it out fairly thin. Then I use a pizza cutter to cut the sliders. Tonight I made the recipe more brothy, like chicken soup, but I've also made it thicker. My husband's family loves it over mashed potatoes---starch nirvana! I also like to add some dried herbs, a little garlic powder and a few bouillon cubes to the chicken while it is cooking for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
the concept of this recipe is awesome, but i was very disappointed when i made it....there is hardly any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States