Chicken and Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
It was ok. I used butter instead of oil to cook onions, shrimp and mushrooms. I used butter to make the rue too. I added salt, pepper and paprika to the flour mixture. I added salt, pepper, and parm cheese to the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie Childs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
My husband loved this. Chose to pair it with rice, but it was a little bland. Next time, I will serve with pasta in an olive oil, garlic, lemon, juice sauce or a light alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I used chicken broth instead of water. I also added some lemon juice. I wanted more vegetables so I added celery, frozen peas and some baby corn. It was delicious. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was very delicious. I did tweak it a little bit. I used 4 cloves of garlic instead of 2. For the 1 1/4 cup of water I added a vegetable bullion cube then I zested a lemon and put that in their along with 2 tbs of lemon juice and I used 1/2 cup of wine instead of 1/4 cup. All in all it was pretty tasty and I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I try this recipe very good and delious recipe. I put my own little spin on the recipe. I omit the wine and use extra water instead. And I also use Goya Adobo to season the chicken and shrimp. I also use Goya Curry rice in a box. The meal was very good!! I had so many compliments about this dish. I also did like everyone else did I increase the garlic. I want to think the person who came up with recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
In my opinion, which, after all, is what these reviews are all about, a few tweaks elevated this from a four to a five star recipe. Using what I had on hand, I substituted some frozen green peas and red bell pepper for the mushrooms, and we LOVED those alterations – they added such great flavor, not to mention making for beautiful, colorful eye appeal. I winged it when it came to the sauce, adding more wine and chicken broth (a far superior option than water) as necessary. I also swirled in some butter on low heat at the end, making the sauce rich and velvety smooth. I served this over a tri-color capellini. This was simply excellent and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Giving this 4 stars because it was good with some additions. It definitely needed some changes otherwise would have been bland. I doubled the wine, added lemon pepper seasoning and lemon juice and extra garlic and used chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Absolutely delicious starter recipe. I added paprika, garlic powder, and parsley flakes to my flour mix. The shrimp add a nice sweet bite. Mine turned out slightly to thick for my liking, but I think that was my fault. Will be making again, and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
First I used chicken broth instead of water and I felt the sauce still needed A LOT of seasoning added (basil, rosemary, Italian style) and I was only cooking for two so I used one large chicken breast pounded flat and cubed with about 10 large shrimp. I still used the full amount called for of wine and broth so I could serve it over pasta and have enough sauce for the pasta too. I think it will taste a lot better next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnk.thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I used skinless, boneless chicken thighs: hey, it's what I had on hand! I added juice of one lemon along with zest from 1/2 of the rind and added to 1-1/2 cups of water rather than the 1-1/4 cups. I also doubled the amount of garlic. Thanks for a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States