Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This was delicious just as written. My picky teenagers even liked it. Restaurant quality and by far the best recipe I've made from this community.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I sent this link to my father-in-law since he loves Italian sausage. He had me make it and now I have to make it weekly! We use spicy Italian sausage and the pasta has great flavor. I usually do it like some other reviewers do - brown the meat first, deglaze the pan with the wine, let the wine almost evaporate, add tomatoes and herbs, bring to a boil, add the meat back, simmer. It just makes sense to me that way because a lot of pasta sauces are made in this order. I do use some cornstarch to thicken it a bit, too. It always turns out great! Oh, and I do double the amount of sauce because I just like a lot of sauce in my pasta, and I half the amount of chicken...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Very Simple quick and easy... Pretty tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This recipe is unarguably a keeper.I am glad I found this recipe and will make it again but will add cream as others suggest. With that said, I had to change 1 ingredient and that was the turkey sausage as we are not fond of turkey sausage. I replaced it with sweet Italian pork sausage without casings as I can not eat spicy foods. I did also kept the garlic in it so the chicken would absorb a bit more of the garlic. I did simmer all meats together for a bit longer than the 20 minutes to allow for the meats to soften. It did wonders for the overall texture! Since my sausage was purchased without casing, I made tiny balls out of it about 3/4 inches in diameter. They looked like little chunks of sausage. The best was to see how the bow ties got covered perfectly with the sauce they really need nothing else just enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
this was really easy and was delicious! I don't like hot sausage so used sweet Italian sausage and put in some additional spices...parsley, red pepper, celery seed...it was really great! Will definitely make it again. Oh, and I added the cream that some reviewers mentioned....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I really liked this pasta. The chicken was a nice touch. It is similar to "drunken noodles' that I make. I took the advice of other reviewers and added a touch of heavy whipping cream to the sauce and everyone loved it. I like to use chardonnay instead of red wine, but that's just my taste. I also have substituted ground beef for the chicken for a hearty Italian style sauciness! Great recipe; thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I'm rating this five stars even though I tweaked it a little because it's so versatile and forgiving! I had some precooked Italian sausage and leftover cooked turkey breast to be used in the fridge, and a small amount of farfalle, so I threw this together and it was delicious, even tho it simmered on the stove about twice as long as required because my hubs was delayed at work. I cooked some diced onion and garlic in EVOO, then added a can of diced tomatoes (with basil, garlic and oregano), brought that to a boil, then a simmer, added the pre-cooked meats and wine, added a couple of grinds of Italian seasoning, then let the sauce simmer for what turned into almost an hour before adding the pre-cooked farfalle and a few small chunks of fresh mozzarella about three minutes before serving with a sprinkle of parm. (from the green can). The meats had broken down a bit, but that turned out to be a good thing, as the sauce was just the right consistency, and the flavor was divine! I look forward to trying this when tomatoes and basil are in season (right now, the toms from the stores around here have zero flavor), but this is great for something that uses canned tomatoes, and I'll never look cross-eyed at recipes that mix poultry and pork products again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I thought this was excellent! Just my pet peeve, but if you make changes, please don't rate recipes based on your changes. If you make it exactly, or nearly exactly as written, then by all means rate as you see fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joe Dunn
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Great meal! I added the basil & rosemary to the meats during cooking...good flavor that way. Served with wine & salad, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Added onions. Really yummy, lasted me a week for lunches at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States