Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This was a very good recipe. I made a few modifications but I still gave it 5 stars because the changes were just my likings. I used garlic and cheese sausages (we don't like spicy or fennel). My method for the meat is to brown the chicken and sausage completley in the garlic & olive oil. Cooking it now this way prevents the meat from becoming overcooked during the boiling and simmering process when making the sauce. Remove the meat and set aside than go on with making the sauce in the same skillet. I used red wine and chopped about 5 roma tomatoes (I don't like canned tomatoes). and let it simmer a bit. Once the tomatoes reduced a bit, I added a little cornstarch and water to thicken the sauce along with salt, pepper and 1/2 cup light cream (I got that tip fom other reviewers). I simmered the sauce for about 20 minutes, added the meat in and simmered another 20 minutes. I than added the pasta and a lot of chopped basil (we love basil) and the dish was very very tasty. I am not sure what people are doing when they say it comes out bland. This is very flavorful! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
A must try. I only made a few changes based on other reviews. Since I don't like chunks of tomato, I used spaghetti sauce from a jar and just added a little red wine to get that flavor. I cooked the meat in the sauce much longer, about double the time. I added dried onion mid way through. I added cream as one reviewer suggested and I liked what that did to the texture. We will definately have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I read through the reviews. I only used a chicken breast and a 1/2 and a whole pound of the spicy turkey sausage. I used a T of garlic. I sauteed the garlic. Added the chicken and sausage. Cooked until done. Took meat out. Used 28 oz crushed tomatoe sauce, 1/2 cup red wine, 1 T italian seasoning and S & P to taste. Simmered, added meat and simmered for another 20 minutes. Added 1/2 cup cream with 5 minutes to go. Spooned sauce over noodles. Topped with parmesan cheese. Yum! You could use a jar of spaghetti sauce with a splash of wine if in a hurry. Very good for a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Editor's Correction: The extra penne pasta has been deleted from the ingredient list. Sorry for the confusion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
This recipe is really great, and really easy. It is a nice change from spaghetti. We will be having this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I used this basic recipe to accomodate some ingredients I needed used - so mine turned out a bit different than the original, but as the chef herself noted, neccessity is the mother of invention! I didnt' use any chicken and added a can of tomato sauce instead of wine, and added about a cup of chopped zucchini. I didn't have any rosemary so used basil, thyme and sage instead. I added the zucchini pretty early in so it could cook with the sausage which gave it amazing flavor and even my little brother who doesn't care for it said it was tasty. I give it 4 stars just to compensate for the differences there may be between the original
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROZ21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hauptstuhl, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
Make this recipe!!! You will not be disappointed. I find that the hot and spicy sausage adds an incredible flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Must be an error - has two pastas - one 12 oz. and one 16 oz. That's a lot of pasta!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This recipe needed more flavor. I added garlic and green peppers but it was still lacking something. The dish was ok, but I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
bravo! This was great! It was easy, my husband loved it and kids loved it. Will definately make this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States