Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this almost exactly as directed, though I left the garlic in the pan when cooking the meat. After the sauce simmered with the meat for 10 minutes I added some oregano, parsley flakes, crushed red pepper in addidtion to the rosemary. I also used a little more than 2 tsps of basil ( the fresh basil in a tube you can find in the produce section) . In addition, I sautéed some fresh spinach in garlic and a bit of olive oil and added that to the whole meat/pasta/sauce mixture at the end. Delish!! My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was a very good recipe that everyone in my family enjoyed (which is a rarity). The one thing that I will add next time is spinach which will blend nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJVDK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was simple but AWESOME! Everyone in my family of 5 loved it. It's hard to find something we all like. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Anne Best

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
The family enjoyed this. The only change that I made was to use about 1/2 the pasta & double the crushed tomatoes. Seemed like it would have been a little dry without that change. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by critter42
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Loved it! I didn't have any farfalle, so I substituted some three-color rotini I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by critter42

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
it was ok but far too spicy... if you are someone who doesn't do well with spicy foods I highly recommend useing mild italian sausage instead of hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
My husband LOVED this dish, as did I. He is a touring musician and has eaten the greatest foods all over the world and he actually came back for seconds and then finished it off when I went to work. HIGHLY recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyThomson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is a good versatile recipe. There's room for lots of variation. Im from Louisiana and it reminded me of jambalaya but with pasta instead of rice. I used some left over chicken andapple sausage but otherwise I followed the recipe and it turned out great. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is my go-to meal whenever I don't know what to make for dinner. I did make some of my own changes and I've noticed I continue to make changes-throwing in what I have and making due with what I'm out of. We only use sausage, my grocer carries sweet and hot Italian sausage in 1lb bulk packages. I roll it into small balls and cook it thoroughly before adding canned tomatoes. Sometimes they're crushed, other times diced, a few times just a can of sauce. Occassionally I'll find that I've purchased some diced tomatoes seasoned with basil and oregano or some other variety of spices. I alway skip the rosemary as we aren't fans, but I add an Italian spice blend, oregano, red pepper flakes, and sometimes onion. I always leave the garlic in after I saute it in the oil, we like the flavor and texture. This is definitely a recipe I've committed to memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
needs a sauce of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States