Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this almost exactly as directed, though I left the garlic in the pan when cooking the meat. After the sauce simmered with the meat for 10 minutes I added some oregano, parsley flakes, crushed red pepper in addidtion to the rosemary. I also used a little more than 2 tsps of basil ( the fresh basil in a tube you can find in the produce section) . In addition, I sautéed some fresh spinach in garlic and a bit of olive oil and added that to the whole meat/pasta/sauce mixture at the end. Delish!! My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was a very good recipe that everyone in my family enjoyed (which is a rarity). The one thing that I will add next time is spinach which will blend nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJVDK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was simple but AWESOME! Everyone in my family of 5 loved it. It's hard to find something we all like. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Anne Best

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
The family enjoyed this. The only change that I made was to use about 1/2 the pasta & double the crushed tomatoes. Seemed like it would have been a little dry without that change. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by critter42
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Loved it! I didn't have any farfalle, so I substituted some three-color rotini I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by critter42

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
it was ok but far too spicy... if you are someone who doesn't do well with spicy foods I highly recommend useing mild italian sausage instead of hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
My husband LOVED this dish, as did I. He is a touring musician and has eaten the greatest foods all over the world and he actually came back for seconds and then finished it off when I went to work. HIGHLY recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyThomson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is a good versatile recipe. There's room for lots of variation. Im from Louisiana and it reminded me of jambalaya but with pasta instead of rice. I used some left over chicken andapple sausage but otherwise I followed the recipe and it turned out great. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is my go-to meal whenever I don't know what to make for dinner. I did make some of my own changes and I've noticed I continue to make changes-throwing in what I have and making due with what I'm out of. We only use sausage, my grocer carries sweet and hot Italian sausage in 1lb bulk packages. I roll it into small balls and cook it thoroughly before adding canned tomatoes. Sometimes they're crushed, other times diced, a few times just a can of sauce. Occassionally I'll find that I've purchased some diced tomatoes seasoned with basil and oregano or some other variety of spices. I alway skip the rosemary as we aren't fans, but I add an Italian spice blend, oregano, red pepper flakes, and sometimes onion. I always leave the garlic in after I saute it in the oil, we like the flavor and texture. This is definitely a recipe I've committed to memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
needs a sauce of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States