Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Delicious, easy and reasonably healthy. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Delicious. Didn't have any red wine but threw some balsamic vinegar into the sauce pan instead and still tasted awesome. It's a good reheat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvin Pud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This dish is absolutely fantastic! I did make some changes, though. First of all, I used 6 links of spicy italian chicken sausage and 3 chicken breasts. I sauteed the garlic in the olive oil along with a whole diced yellow onion and did not remove any of it. After I browned the chicken (which I liberally seasoned with salt and pepper) and sausage, I added one whole chopped zucchini, about 3/4 of a chopped red bell pepper, a handful of chopped sundried tomatoes, and two chopped artichoke hearts. I added the wine first and let it reduce a bit to make that wine flavor more intense and then added a large can of diced tomatoes (not drained). I reduced the sauce for probably 40 minutes and it was still thin, so I added a little cornstarch and water to thicken it a bit. I finished it with a heavy drizzle of heavy cream and chopped fresh basil. I forwent the rosemary. If you want to hide veggies from your kids or a family member who doesn't like them, in a way that they can't really be tasted, this is it! I would have included green pepper, but didn't have any on hand. It made a HUGE portion, but I froze the remainder for a later meal! It had the perfect blend of cream and spice from the sausage. A+ recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I think Cheri826's input made this recipe good. I followed what they did (highly recommend that, especially the cream and cooking the sausage and chicken separate). I also added a bit of spice. Red Pepper gave it a nice bite. Not too much. Corn Starch was also a must. It's a good base recipe, but I think it definitely needs some alterations to really get it going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I was so excited to make this dish and, boy, was it a pleaser! I was very grateful for the reviews, as I did modify it a bit based on user recommendations! I added a bit of cream, doubled the canned tomatoes (just got the BIG can) and decided to add a handful of fresh spinach! The sauce was so, so good that I am going to create a tomato bisque from it next time! Bravo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Wycoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I made this with ground italian sausage instead and turned out great! This is now one of my family's FAVORITE meals!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Delicious!!!!!! And so easy too!!! Just note that it really does take the full hour. such a great meal to make ahead and great for leftovers! Note...add the basil and the rosemary when the sauce is in its last 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
WONDERFUL! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This has become my husbands favorite dish! I made a couple small changes; leaving out the chicken and adding more Italian sausage as well as adding light cream (another reviewers suggestions). Delicious! Even my 20 year old brother loved this dish, and he is VERY picky. If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great recipe!! Fast and easy to make, but it tasted like it took much more effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States