Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This turned out no be one of our favorites. Seemed a bit bland, wound up adding marinara sauce for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Bland, couldn't even taste the chicken (could only taste the sausage). I don't drink so substituted beef broth for red wine. Didn't help. Twelve oz of pasta worked well, a pound would have been too much. It needs some mushrooms, spinach/kale added. Will def change it up a lot if I ever make it again, but then it will be an entirely different recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PaulKern
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great recipe, as measured by all the kids clean plates! I'd like to have a bit more sauce myself, but then we used already cooked rotisserie chicken so that may have absorbed some of the sauce (great flavor that way) since it wasn't seared pieces. These substitutions worked great as it's what we had on hand. Cubed chicken from two breasts of Costco Rotisserie Chicken. One Garlic cube (frozen fresh garlic from Dorot, 1 cube/clove) instead of 2 cloves, added after the meats were cooked. Three teaspoons dried basil instead of 2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil, added while simmering (dried should be added earlier than fresh). Added the Rosemary with the dried Basil while the sauce was simmering, to be sure it was softened and not noticeable by the kids -- worked great (I couldn't find a single piece).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I made this last night after work with chicken left over from a grocery store chicken. Added some mushroom, fresh spinach and because I had it, spaghetti sauce instead of tomatoes. It all went together easily and I had the leftovers today for lunch and it is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Really good, but could stand an extra can of crushed tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made as directed and it was bland and watery not enough sauce for that amount of pasta in fact I left off adding about 1.5 cups to it .. out of 6 people no one liked it. Rather than toss it out I tried the next day to switch it up and added small can of tomato sauce and lots of spaghetti seasoning and a spicy sweet type of specialty ketchup also melted montery jack cheese shredded into it and a layer on top.. still no one like it.. so tossing it is sorry it is just not good at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy McKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I thought this was more trouble than it was worth. I used minced garlic. My husband loved it though and would have given it 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was very good. I added about 1/5 brick of cream cheese per others' suggestions to make it a little creamy. We like the rosemary. I also added some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
A fast, easy and delicious meal! The family loved this meal and couldn't stop eating it. I doubled the sauce and added extra Italian seasonings, a splash of Light Cream and Parmesan Cheese. Next time I will try what another reviewer did. She used vodka instead of wine and added vegetables. This is a fun recipe that you can revise as you please. You can't go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I've made this recipe twice, loved it both times. Very simple and easy to make with a delicious result. The leftovers (I doubled it) are currently in my fridge, waiting to be warmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States