Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This pasta dish is delicious and very easy to make. It needed a little more liquid than was called for so I doubled the tomatoes and red wine. A recipe to make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
My husband and daughter liked it, I think it was OK but has potential with some adjustments. I used pork sausage and chicken...next time I start the cooking the sausage first and then add the chicken to prevent it from drying out. I'll also make twice the sauce...I used 1 12oz box of Barilla pasta but it seemed to absorb almost all of the sauce. I added more seasoning...it was a bit bland for my taste. But too be fair , I had to use dried basil instead of fresh. I added a jar of roasted red peppers too. I did like the mix of red wine and crushed tomatoes. It was pretty easy and I liked the versatility, I think this would be great on a crusty roll. I'll definitely make it again and try some different seasonings. Thanks Patricia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
very good, added other Italian seasoning and crushed red peppers for a kick. almost like pizza sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I'd give it 3, the family would vote for 4-5 (kinda dry for my liking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berlyanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This was okay, but not great. The chicken turned a wierd grey color after cooking in the wine. This didn't bother my husband, but I found it off-putting. The sauce was lacking, so I added some more spices (red pepper flakes, Italian seasoning). I'd skimp on the rosemary next time, for sure. And I'd add a pat of butter at the end. Also, if you like your pasta with a lot of sauce, use less pasta than this recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This was very good, although I didn't have crushed tomatoes so I used a can of diced tomatoes. The sauce ended up being too thin so next time I will be sure to use the crushed tomatoes instead. This is a very tasty low fat, low calorie meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This was wonderful and very easy to make. I used chicken broth to thin it out some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This is a hearty but quickly prepared pasta dinner that tasted like I put a lot more effort into cooking than I did. I love the flavors of sausage and chicken together, and thought it was great to use turkey sausage instead of pork sausage for the sake of good health. I used a little bit of tomato paste to thicken my sauce, and doubled everything so we'd have plenty of leftovers. I added several other seasonings including a bit of marjoram, oregano, onion powder, sugar (to cut the salty taste of canned tomato), and a pinch of allspice - all of which made this sauce taste delicious and slow cooked. I also used ziti with lines instead of bowties - we don't like farfalle much. Everything was delicious and everyone's looking forward to taking leftovers to work tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was really good. I halfed the pasta and meat so there was more sauce, which I like for dipping my bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I read through the reviews. I only used a chicken breast and a 1/2 and a whole pound of the spicy turkey sausage. I used a T of garlic. I sauteed the garlic. Added the chicken and sausage. Cooked until done. Took meat out. Used 28 oz crushed tomatoe sauce, 1/2 cup red wine, 1 T italian seasoning and S & P to taste. Simmered, added meat and simmered for another 20 minutes. Added 1/2 cup cream with 5 minutes to go. Spooned sauce over noodles. Topped with parmesan cheese. Yum! You could use a jar of spaghetti sauce with a splash of wine if in a hurry. Very good for a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States