Chicken and Sausage with Bowties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was alright, but not great. I ended up needing more crushed tomatoes than called for (which I did have). It was a decent way to use my extra sausage that I had in the freezer. I'm not sure whether or not I'll make it again. It tasted very Italian (which I like). I did add 1 tsp Italian seasoning and extra garlic, but besides that, I followed the recipe. It did only take me a total of 45 minutes to make (not the hour that it says). I did substitute penne pasta because that was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet R.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Worked great for all of us for dinner. Worked great the next day as lunch. I had to make some changes based on what I had on hand - diced tomatoes, not crushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I used 28oz of tomatoes and doubled the other ingredients for the sauce and also added broccoli. Makes great leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
What a fast, nice easy meal! We used 1.5 lbs sweet pork sausage(no chicken) and amost a whole 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes. Added some crushed red pepper too. Super with the wine - really worth adding it. Will make this again and again. As author says - you can add anything to this and it will be good! I added zucchini this time. Might try eggplant next time. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was wonderful. My local store had a spicy cajun chicken sausage that was incredible. I used that in lieu of the italian sausage. I also didn't have fresh garlic and used jarred instead without removing it from the pan. I added a little parmesean cheese on top and walla...it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is a great simple dinner recipe. I like it better with egg noodles, because I'm just not much of a fan of bow ties pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was pretty good! The sauce was very thick so I ended up using double the crushed tomatoes. The flavor was good, but I wouldn't mind more garlic next time. Probably will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
this was just ok for me. the turkey sausage wasnt that great in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityldp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Good flavor and lots of food! Be certain to bring to a boil for the 20 minutes or the wine taste is overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was recipe had a lot of flavor and we really liked it. This makes a great mid week meal as it's so fast to put together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States