Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
It was good for how quick and easy it was. I made my own cream of chicken soup and stirred in (on a weird pregnancy whim) mayonnaise to the finished product after I found it was still lacking in the flavor. It was ok without the mayo but it was MUCH better with it. I'm not sure how much I added but I think it was 1/4 cup per 2 cups of chicken and rice. The mayo brought the rating up to a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Lyndsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
OMG This was so good!! I tweeked it hardcore though. I boiled 2 bags of rice in chicken broth then added the rice and a smidgen of the broth in with the chicken and soup. I used 2 cans of the soup 1 can of chicken. Piled on some Onion seasoning. Added a dash of Paprika, Salt, and Pepper. and the teenest bit of cumin. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I don't usually have instant rice or canned chicken laying around the house but I pare cooked a couple of chicken breasts and brown rice added frozen mixed veggies and topped it all with cheese. Heated in the microwave until cheese melted. Even with these changes it was artifical tasting but I did use some ingridents hanging out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
After reading others' reviews, I added black pepper, garlic powder, paprika, and salt and my husband still said it was too bland, so next time I will add more seasonings, but otherwise it was a great meal for how easily and quickly prepared it is! Reminds me of one of my favorite dishes, Sunday chicken. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I diced a cooked chickn breasts with a whole packet of italian seasoning and a lot of onion powder. I doubled everything else using 2 cans of chicken broth and 2 cups instant white rice and 2 cup instant brown rice and 2 cans soup, along with a a bag of mixed veggies...it was really pretty good...Quick an Easy......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I do this a little different. I saute' two boneless, skinless chicken breasts that I have cubed in a little olive oil, seasoned with garlic & onion powder and black pepper (no salt, there's plenty of that in the soup and stock). Instead of water to make the rice, I use Swanson's Chicken Stock (or broth) and I add a 4 0z can of chopped porta bella mushrooms. Still pretty easy, but adds a little more flavor and isn't as bland this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Was looking for a way to use canned chicken I had left over, and this was quick and simple. I only used 1 cup of rice because that's all I had but I added 1 cup of broccoli, some onion powder, garlic salt, and pepper and it turned out great. Like other reviewers mentioned, this is a simple, semi-healthy meal that takes about 10 min to make and you can customize it to your tastes. A good recipe to keep on hand for nights when you just want to throw a few things in a pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Great, easy recipe. I added some shredded cheddar cheese, and that kicked it up a notch. Perfect comfort food meal for when you don't feel like cooking on a long winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StefV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Not to bad! I was looking for a quick dinner with little ingredients this turned out to be great for what I was looking for. Others had said this was bland so I added a tsp of garlic powder and a tbs of onion powder with salt and pepper to taste. I also added brocolli florets to get some veggies in there. It turned out well. I wont make this weekly but ever so often when I dont feel like slaving in the kitchen. Thanks for the reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States