Chicken and Rice with Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I have cooked it twice but using other nuts and its really great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This is a very simple dish but it has a good taste. I did not add the chicken because I prefer this dish with just beef. I have tried it both ways in the past. The only other change I made was to brown the meat and then drain off the fat. I waited to add the butter until after the meat was drained. I did this because I don't normally use fat to brown ground beef and because others mentioned this dish can be dry. My dish turned out moist but needed a little more spice for my taste. I added an additional half tsp. allspice and a 1/4 tsp. more of cinnamon. That did the trick. Thanks for sharing this beloved dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I liked this recipe alot. I took it to a potluck and doubled the recipe- there was nothing to take home. I tweaked a few things in the recipe. I added boullion cubes to the water and I cubed the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mxdunagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I boil a whole chicken for an hour, with salt and pepper. Debone the chicken. Meanwhile cook your rice using the broth of the boiled chicken. Add pine nuts and almond slivers to the rice. Serve the rice on a platter with the chicken slivers on top. Fabulous...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Fayad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I give this recipe 5 stars... everyone loves it.. I have been making this recipe for years.. The only changes I would make are to cube the chciken breasts after poaching... add two chicken bouillion packets.. and I usually bake it in the oven in a small roasting pan at 350.. for about 30 min.... or until liquid is absorbed...also.. I have found, that peanuts, believe it or not, make a great subsitution in a pinch for the pine nuts... If it seems dry, also add a few tbsp butter.. and or vegetable oil... Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIECROCKER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I was looking for something to do with chicken breast that would be different and I love allspice, so I tried this. My kids and husband did not like it very much. They said it didn't taste bad it just didn't taste good. Maybe marinating the chicken ahead of time would make it better; it was a little boring. I have never combined chicken and ground beef before, it is a good way to use up small amounts of both. Maybe adding some red peppers could zip it up a little. Thank you for sharing the recipe, it's different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conchmom33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mikayla
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
My husband and I found this recipe very easy to prepare and very delicious. The cinnamon in the recipe gave the meal a very unusual combinations of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was horrible. I had to throw it in the trash and was not able to use it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
To avoid over drying I cut the cooking for the chicken to about fifteen minutes. What really made this dish however was that I substituted chicken broth for the water. The rice absorbed the broth and it had a wonderful flavor. I didn't have any pine nuts so I roasted up some pecans. It was an excellant dish which we'll have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This casserole reminded me of Lebanese Kibbee (a kind of meatloaf) in flavors. I also thought it was dry so I accompanied the recipe with yogurt sauce 2 lg cucumbers, seeded and diced 4 cloves garlic, crushed, 4 cups yogurt Plain, and 2 T dried mint. Combine and serve as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States