Chicken and Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I would love to give this 4.5 stars, but that isn't an option. This is very tasty soup, and convenient to assemble in the crock pot. This is ready after 6 hours, and I am concerned about letting the vegetables get too soft if it goes to 8. Fortunately, I'm at home today to monitor it, and I'm going to put it in the fridge until dinner (two hours away). I think the best way to do this is to cook the rice separately. I followed the recipe, with these exceptions: I added 1 tsp. minced garlic; I added 1/2 c. chopped onion; I used brown rice; and I used uncooked, diced chicken. Because I have a 5 qt. cooker, I deleted the water and added another can of chicken broth. Great idea for a busy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
really yummy, just needs a little more broth to make it more like a soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I substituted more celery and some fresh baby carrots for the frozen mixed vegetables. I added about a tablespoon of dried chopped onion, a couple cloves of minced then smashed garlic, lots of black pepper and a few shakes of cayenne pepper. I screwed up the rice (made it ahead of time in a separate pan, but it turned to mush), so I just dipped some homemade sweet rolls in the soup. The contrast of the sweet and spicy was really tasty! I will definitely make this again and continue playing with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Followed others advice about adding 1 Tsp minced garlic, 1 Tbsp basil, 1 Tsp Thyme, 1 tsp celery salt, and 1 tsp dried Parsley. Left out the rice and replaced it with spinach and cheese Tortellini. I did not add the noodles until the last 25 minutes. Was really tasty! My boyfriend had 3 bowls full!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
The kids liked this a lot, I'd make it for them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Awesome recipe! I added more broth as people have suggested, I also used 3 boxes of long grain wild rice with seasonings (been sitting in the cabinets for a while and I wanted to use them up), I added them about an hour before serving and it turned out perfect. This also made it more of a chicken and rice dish so if you want more of a soup - use less rice. I believe me and my wife got 4 or 5 meals out of this one, it went a long way! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My family is in LOVE with this soup! We had it for the first time today and my husband can't stop talking about it. My two year old even asked for more after eating a very hearty portion. I took the advice of some others and added a clove of garlic, 1 T of dried basil, and 1/2 T of dried thyme. In addition, I didn't have the lemon and herb seasoning on hand, so I added 1/8 t black pepper, 1-2 T dried oregano, 1-2 t bottled lemon peel. I didn't have the time to use the slow cooker, so I just mixed everything, but the brown rice I used, together in my dutch oven, brought it to a boil, then reduced the heat and let it simmer for about 20 minutes or so. Then I added the cooked brown rice to the pot and let it cook for another 10 minutes. Absolutely superb! Would give it more than 5 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
great soup. I add a few spices: 2 tsp minced garlic 1 TBS basil 1/2 TBS thyme used parboiled rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by briranky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canal Winchester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This was pretty good. Like others suggested, I just made minute rice & put it in for 10 minutes or so at the end. I also put celery seasoning in because I hate to buy celery & have the rest go to waste. It tasted a little more like canned soup as opposed to homemade soup to me, but I would still definitely make it again. It's great for a workday soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolehall711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glidden, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
My family loves it. I add basil and thyme, also. I cook the rice separately and also cook noodles. I just put the rice or noodle in the bowl and then put the soup over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States