Chicken and Rice Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
Nice flavor and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2000
THis was great,but I had a problem with the rice turning to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2000
GREAT RECIPE! FAMILY ASKED FOR MORE. NEXT TIME I WILL TRY ADDING RICE 1 1/2 HOURS BEFORE FINISHED SO THAT RICE DOESN'T TURN MUSHY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
Had the mushy rice problem too, but was still very tasty and easy to make. Couldn't find Lemon Herb seasoning, used Lemon Pepper with Onion and Garlic instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
This recipe was very easy, however, I thought it was a bit bland. I had placed the leftovers into "lunch ready" containers, but by the next day the rice had soaked up the rest of the liquid. It was more like "chicken flavored rice and vegetables." Of all the leftovers in the fridge...it is still waiting to be chosen. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
I threw all the ingredients in my slow cooker before I left for work. However, when my husband got home less than 5 hours later, the rice was nothing but mush. I don't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
Loved this soup...added some more flavors to it...I cooked onions with the chicken and placed them in the soup, along with thyme, pepper, a little salt and flavored chicken broth..I used four cans instead of three, I also waited till the last half an hour to put the rice in the pot. It came out delicious, everyone enjoyed it...along with garlic bread. It is lite but yet hits the spot on a cold New England day. Thank you for the easy yet great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
This soup is delicious and it is one of my favorite dishes in the winter. It goes great with some home made whole wheat bread. I like to spice up the soup a bit by adding some thyme, garlic, and basil. Find the right combination of these three to meet your taste buds. For the listed recipe that serves six, I add one crushed clove of garlic, about 1 tablespoon of dried basil, and 1/2 tablespoon of dried thyme. You don't want to overpower the original recipe's taste, just add some more subtleties. If you're having problems with mushy rice, make sure to use parboiled rice. I've never had the problem with mushy rice when I've used parboiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMCBRID

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I had mush, too, and I added the rice 1-1/2 hours before serving. My husband ate it, but no one else would. I thought it needed more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Good. But when preparing, I would cut back on the lemon seasoning. Also, for an interesting twist, used flavored chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States