Chicken and Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is a GREAT recipe for chicken and rice soup! My husband and I thoroughly enjoy it on a cold winters evening and the leftovers are great too! I do modify it by cooking 3 large carrots first until done and then I also add a can of baby peas. This is put in after the chicken and extra milk. It really adds another layer of flavor to the entire meal. By adding the extra carrots and peas, I do have to add a little more milk to thin it down a little more. Still fabulous!!!!!! Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ewminge1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I also thought it was a bit bland. I tweeked it by adding a few more bouillon cubes, garlic salt, and rosemary. My daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plano, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I agree, this soup is bland almost to the point of being flavorless. I even added a tablespoon of crushed rosemary and two of lemon juice to spice it up, barely any effect. Also, you need at least 5 tablespoons of flour to make a paste, otherwise it's just too much butter. I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I would agree, it is a little on the bland side. Probably need to add more spices, maybe some garlic too. But still decent soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Rating as 4 stars because I did make a few changes. I added one chopped carrot, some garlic salt, a bay leaf, and some thyme to the water/bouillon mix (used the water I had boiled the chicken in). I also used whole wheat flour because and brown rice because it's what I had. If using brown rice, your cook time is going to increase by about 30 minutes and you're going to want at least another cup of water. It was DELICIOUS! My 5 and 12 year old had 2 bowls! Not a bite was left, definitely going to double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This soup is so good and I made a couple of changes to make it healthier. I used brown rice, used 2T butter instead of 1/2 cup and sub wheat flour for all purpose flour. It is great, will make it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Maloof

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This soup was wonderful. Not only was it tastety but it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppatowne, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very good. I always squeeze fresh lemon over my soup, it really adds another level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This recipe a friend of mine used to make so I know this will taste delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Yumm!!! I'm eating a big bowl right now..and it's really rich and creamy! I've gone vegan, which can be a challenge when you love cream, butter and cheese! I've found though(from this site) that you can use silken tofu in place of cream...just put it in the food processor with a little soy milk and voila`!! The other changes I made were to use soy protien in place of the chicken, I added broccoli, red pepper and used brown rice instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIABETICCUPCAKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States