Chicken and Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
My husband loved this so much he had 3 servings of it! I only used half the butter because that's what the white sauce I usually make calls for. Also used wheat flour because we were out of white and it added a little extra awesomeness! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
It was alright. Not sure if I'll make it again. I didn't really make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Begent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I added carrots. Used chicken broth instead of water to cook rice. It is a bit bland. I thought is was thick so I added some chicken broth to thin it out instead of milk. Will make again but will add some other some other spices. Definitively need to add more liquid than what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Chadwick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is a GREAT recipe for chicken and rice soup! My husband and I thoroughly enjoy it on a cold winters evening and the leftovers are great too! I do modify it by cooking 3 large carrots first until done and then I also add a can of baby peas. This is put in after the chicken and extra milk. It really adds another layer of flavor to the entire meal. By adding the extra carrots and peas, I do have to add a little more milk to thin it down a little more. Still fabulous!!!!!! Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ewminge1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I also thought it was a bit bland. I tweeked it by adding a few more bouillon cubes, garlic salt, and rosemary. My daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plano, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I agree, this soup is bland almost to the point of being flavorless. I even added a tablespoon of crushed rosemary and two of lemon juice to spice it up, barely any effect. Also, you need at least 5 tablespoons of flour to make a paste, otherwise it's just too much butter. I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I would agree, it is a little on the bland side. Probably need to add more spices, maybe some garlic too. But still decent soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Rating as 4 stars because I did make a few changes. I added one chopped carrot, some garlic salt, a bay leaf, and some thyme to the water/bouillon mix (used the water I had boiled the chicken in). I also used whole wheat flour because and brown rice because it's what I had. If using brown rice, your cook time is going to increase by about 30 minutes and you're going to want at least another cup of water. It was DELICIOUS! My 5 and 12 year old had 2 bowls! Not a bite was left, definitely going to double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This soup is so good and I made a couple of changes to make it healthier. I used brown rice, used 2T butter instead of 1/2 cup and sub wheat flour for all purpose flour. It is great, will make it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Maloof

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This soup was wonderful. Not only was it tastety but it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppatowne, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States