Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This is similar to the one I've made for years. I use 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1 can cream of chicken soup. Mix and spread on bottom of dish. sprinkle rice (1 cup or a bit more) on top. Add chicken pieces-one cut up chicken or your choice-top w/ 1 can french onion soup. Top w/ foil and bake 45 min. take off foil for last 15 min. Plenty of liquid to cook rice. Have not tried this one and am not criticizing it. Just see that lack of liquid could be an issue as others have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I've made this dish for many years but with a few key differences. I use 1 can of Campbell's Cream of Mushroom Soup, 1 can of Campbell's Cream of Mushroom S,., .oup WITH garlic, 2 packages (not boxes) of Lipton Onion Soup Mix and I replace the water with Chicken broth. I cook the rice as directed on the package but instead of water I use the chicken broth, both soups and 1 package of the soup mix. Once the rice is close to complete I place it in a casserole dish or baking pan and arrange the chicken on top of it. I don't like crunchy rice so this works better for me. I add the rest of the ingredients over the chicken and let it cook until the chicken AND rice are fully cooked. When I reheat the leftovers I put a little butter in it and it's wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Kiah
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Took advice from other reviews. 1 can golden mushroom, 1 can cream of celery w/ 1 can water together. Pour and add rice. Seared chicken breasts first to brown outside and hold in moisture. Add on top of soup & rice mix. Add fresh garlic, onion, pepper, paprika, parsley and monetary chicken seasoning ( mrs dash works too) to the top of chicken. Cover w/ foil and bake. Add veggies of your choice during last 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Well I gave the recipe a go and after the 15 minute uncovered period the rice was still hard and dry. I've added a cup of milk now and put it back in for another 15 minutes. We'll see if that helps any. ***** So adding a cup of milk helped. I would suggest mixing the can of soup, onion soup mix and two cups of milk together and then pour all of that over the chicken and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
My mom made this for over 40 years, it's one of my favorite dishes. I love the rice, so I double the ingredients for the rice. Use 2 cups white rice, 2 cans cream of mushroom soup, 2 cans French Onion soup. Place rice in dish prepared with spray, mix soup together in a bowl and mix into rice (this is what will cook the rice and prevent it from being dry)place chicken on top, season with salt, pepper, and paprika, cover, and bake at 350 degrees for 2 hours, uncovering the last half hour. Never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
This recipe is missing a few key ingredients...I have been making this recipe for years, and my mom before me and her mom before her. With these changes, you will have five star recipe. Along with the mushroom soup (I use Golden Mushroom), you also need 1 can of water and another can of some kind of cream soup (I use cream of celery). Mix the canned soups, water and rice together, pour into the bottom of a casserole dish, add chicken breasts on top (I use bone in breasts to keep them moist long enough for the rice to cook), sprinkle with the dry onion soup mix, cover and bake at 350 for an hour to an hour and 15 minutes. The end result is a "fix it and forget it" meal that my whole family (along with two picky kids) really enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
The chicken was thawed and I had the other ingredients. It sounded like an easy meal and it was. It took over an hour in the oven and the rice was hard around the edges ov the chicken and the soup just sat on top and didn't melt around. There was something left out of this recipe and that was probably some kind of liquid. Had I added some broth, it might have been OK but not great. This was more suited to a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I too realized that there was way too little liquid here to properly hydrate the rice, so I added a cup of chicken broth midway through the baking and it was still dry in the end. Also the French onion soup mix made it quite salty. I wouldn't make this again without using some of the suggestions from other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fcdesigns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I also agree that it is missing a few ingredients , the rice came out not cooked, chicken done too much and soup did not do the usual cooking and glazing over the rest of the dish, and tried it a second time adding a few things and still ended up rice to dry not tasting very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe IS missing key ingredients -- some kind of liquid. The rice does not cook evenly, and the soups on top are not mixed into a nice sauce. Like another reviewer, it was inedible as written, and now the family is hungry and frustrated. Follow the advice of some other reviewers and add liquid and mix it with both the soup mix and the can of soup. I don't know how much to liquid to add, so check out some of the other reviewers who have been making this correctly for years, and try it that way. DON'T try it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States