Chicken and Rice Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
We added some peppers, extra fresh mushrooms, diced up 1\2 an onion and used leftover chicken instead of a whole one. The flavour was good, add some corn or brocolli and use white and wild rice instead. Also we were unsure of whether it should be 1 cup rice before or after cooking. Definately 1 cup (or a little more) before cooking. This recipe has a ton of potential. We are looking forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Both my husband and I enjoyed this casserole. It's a keeper. I used fresh mushrooms and it was great, think I might try adding broccoli to make a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This recipe was great. My family really enjoyed it. Next time I would cook boneless chicken breast instead of whole chicken. Would save a bit of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This was great! We used fresh mushrooms and did 1 cup cheddar 1 cup monterey jack. Also added some frozen broccoli. This is the chicken and rice recipe we will be using from now on. Thanks so much for sharing! I've been searching for a good chicken rice recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Gosh – where do I start? This recipe was FANTASTIC – but also was VERY economical – with a couple of ideas! I used a package of raw chicken tenders (about 10 to a package) instead of a whole chicken. I boiled those with celery, onion, garlic, and a lot of different spices in a big pot of water. To help with the budget – I used only 5 of the chicken tenders once cooked and used 2 cups of cooked rice. I also added some of the strained veggies from my stock to add texture and color. I used only half of the cheese sauce and topped with crushed buttery crackers. Came out great – good comfort food – good food for a snowy day! The economical part – I used the rest of the stock, veggies, tenders, in addition to a small bag of frozen stew veggies, and a little “soup” pasta to make a fabulous chicken soup! I added a tiny bit more milk to the leftover cheese sauce (and spices) to add to a little bit of leftover pasta and veggies that were in the fridge to make a nice lunch! I could have also made creamed peas with the rest of the cheese sauce too – but had to use the other leftovers first! So – I highly recommend this recipe – it can be stretched and if you keep the stock and veggies – you can get two plus meals out of one!!!!!!!! Thanks a million!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
my hubby claims he doesnt like rice, but he sure gobbled this one up! Also make a great stock for next days lunch- soup, i just added noodles! 2fer1 yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Really enjoyed this recipe. Was a great way to use leftover turkey and a wild rice/quinoa blend I had. Made as directed, but didn't have mushrooms so omitted and replaced with broccoli. When making the cheese sauce, i just added some granulated garlic and onion as well as some sage plus salt and pepper. Very tasty! Everyone really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Just make sure to add enough salt/pepper..I thought it was okay but I didn't add enough pepper..after adding some to my plate, it was pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Great. I used leftover turkey, didn't add the cup of chicken broth (didn't have any) and I added frozen peas. It turned out great and was a great way to use the leftover meat. The sauce was super easy to make even with a toddler in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Great dinner to make for the family. I always add broccoli for some extra greens. Cheese sauce makes it more desirable for the kids! Great all-around recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States