Chicken and Rice Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I nixed the mushrooms and added in 1c broccoli & 1c califlower. The cheese sauce is fantastic too. I used BLSL chicken too, using the left over stock instead of buying it from the store. I also took the onions from the stock and pureed then added to the cheese mixture...a shame to waste them. Definitely add 1/2-1c more of rice though. It's a great "from scratch" recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shenalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Gosh – where do I start? This recipe was FANTASTIC – but also was VERY economical – with a couple of ideas! I used a package of raw chicken tenders (about 10 to a package) instead of a whole chicken. I boiled those with celery, onion, garlic, and a lot of different spices in a big pot of water. To help with the budget – I used only 5 of the chicken tenders once cooked and used 2 cups of cooked rice. I also added some of the strained veggies from my stock to add texture and color. I used only half of the cheese sauce and topped with crushed buttery crackers. Came out great – good comfort food – good food for a snowy day! The economical part – I used the rest of the stock, veggies, tenders, in addition to a small bag of frozen stew veggies, and a little “soup” pasta to make a fabulous chicken soup! I added a tiny bit more milk to the leftover cheese sauce (and spices) to add to a little bit of leftover pasta and veggies that were in the fridge to make a nice lunch! I could have also made creamed peas with the rest of the cheese sauce too – but had to use the other leftovers first! So – I highly recommend this recipe – it can be stretched and if you keep the stock and veggies – you can get two plus meals out of one!!!!!!!! Thanks a million!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was my first meal using home made chicken stock. I added broccoli but otherwise stayed on recipe - which was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Although not bad, I thought it was a little bland. Definitely needs more spice than just salt/pepper. Next time I will definitely add some garlic powder and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Rose Winterfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was thick and bland, won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I added a can of Rotel to the cheese sauce... delicious. This is a great basic recipe that can be played with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karenury
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I like to add some roasted red pepper strips, a can of green beans and a can of drained sliced water chestnuts to this dish for more crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenury

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Jordan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This casserole came out fabulous for me. I did make some changes based on other reviews. First, I had leftover rice and chicken which I used for the casserole. I used about two and a half cups of cooked rice and five small boneless, skinless chicken thighs. The ingredients for the sauce seemed like it would make too much, so I cut those in half. I didn't have any mushrooms on hand, but I did add about a cup and a half of frozen mixed veggies with the sauce, rice, and chicken. I also seasoned it with garlic powder, onion powder, and pepper. I baked the casserole for an extra ten minutes since I started out with mostly cold ingredients and wanted to make sure the veggies had time to cook. Finally, I sprinkled a bit more shredded cheddar on top of the casserole. My kids loved it, and I was thrilled to find a chicken and rice dish that didn't call for canned soups. The sauce was really good, and we had a nice one-dish meal for dinner. I will certainly make it again, but maybe with a bit more sauce (or less rice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I bought a cooked rotisseri chicken at the grocery store and deboned that and diced it up instead of boiling my own chicken. This recipe would have been perfect but I think I messed up the amount of rice. I cooked the rice first and used 1 cup cooked rice as the reciped indicates, but that wasn't anywhere near enough rice. As another person pointed out it would have to be 1 cup rice BEFORE cooking. I had to bake it an extra 45mins with the lid off to get it to a 'casserole' consistency. When it finally got thick enough it was delicious. I just need to add way more rice next time. I think the rotisseri chicken meat added great chichen flavor. I mixed some of the drippings from that container into some plain chicken broth to flavor it up a bit as well. I'll try this again sometime and try to get the amount of rice right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe. Changes I made: used 1.5 cups chicken broth, 1.5 cups skim milk; Used fresh mushrooms; Added onion and celery from the broth to the final casserole mix; Used 1 cup cheese; Increased rice to 2 cups rice. The family loved it. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HokieJones82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States