Chicken and Rice Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I bought a cooked rotisseri chicken at the grocery store and deboned that and diced it up instead of boiling my own chicken. This recipe would have been perfect but I think I messed up the amount of rice. I cooked the rice first and used 1 cup cooked rice as the reciped indicates, but that wasn't anywhere near enough rice. As another person pointed out it would have to be 1 cup rice BEFORE cooking. I had to bake it an extra 45mins with the lid off to get it to a 'casserole' consistency. When it finally got thick enough it was delicious. I just need to add way more rice next time. I think the rotisseri chicken meat added great chichen flavor. I mixed some of the drippings from that container into some plain chicken broth to flavor it up a bit as well. I'll try this again sometime and try to get the amount of rice right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe. Changes I made: used 1.5 cups chicken broth, 1.5 cups skim milk; Used fresh mushrooms; Added onion and celery from the broth to the final casserole mix; Used 1 cup cheese; Increased rice to 2 cups rice. The family loved it. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HokieJones82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This recipes lays the foundation, but you need to get creative to make it work. My 2 cents: 1) 1 cup of rice is a bit much... I recommend 3/4. This also fits much better in a 1.5 qt dish. 2) 1/2 an onion was plenty. 3) Saute some fresh mushrooms if you have them instead of canned. 4) I threw in a green bell pepper when boiling the chicken. 5) Celery didn't do much for flavor. Next time I'll use frozen broccoli. 6) Salt, pepper, garlic powder, etc. are definitely needed. 7) On a sidenote, I used 1 lb. of chicken breast, and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Just make sure to add enough salt/pepper..I thought it was okay but I didn't add enough pepper..after adding some to my plate, it was pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Great. I used leftover turkey, didn't add the cup of chicken broth (didn't have any) and I added frozen peas. It turned out great and was a great way to use the leftover meat. The sauce was super easy to make even with a toddler in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
A good, stick to your ribs, family dinner. I followed the recipe exactly and it was very good. The picky kids loved it. I steamed broccoli for the side. Next time, I'll spice it up a bit for my family's taste, but it's VERY good as is. Worth the time and leaves a nice chicken stock for soups and other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
very good.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 3 boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Castle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This recipe was great. My family really enjoyed it. Next time I would cook boneless chicken breast instead of whole chicken. Would save a bit of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
my hubby claims he doesnt like rice, but he sure gobbled this one up! Also make a great stock for next days lunch- soup, i just added noodles! 2fer1 yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This was great! We used fresh mushrooms and did 1 cup cheddar 1 cup monterey jack. Also added some frozen broccoli. This is the chicken and rice recipe we will be using from now on. Thanks so much for sharing! I've been searching for a good chicken rice recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States