Chicken and Red Bell Pepper Salad Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I actually used leftover shredded "mexican" chicken in this recipe and reduced fat mayonnaise. I wanted a little more kick so I tossed in some chopped pickled jalapenos. I made a wrap out of this, filling it out a bit with shredded lettuce, halved cherry tomatoes and a little shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Sometimes the simplest recipes turn out to be some of the best! I love chicken salad and I had two leftover herb grilled chicken breasts and a lonely red bell pepper that needed to be used up before grocery night. What a pleasant surprise this little recipe turned out to be! I cooked the bell pepper as instructed and put everything into the food processor along with the salt, pepper, as well as a bit of garlic and onion powders. I didn't have any heavy cream so I used half and half with light mayo (added a little more than called for). I let this chill for an hour before serving. This chicken salad was creamy and delicious. It was perfect on melba toast and next time I might try it in a wrap! Thanks for a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This is *SO* good! I made it for lunch and had it again for dinner! I had to cheat a little because I didn't have heavy cream. I used a teaspoon of skim milk and about a teaspoon of sour cream to thicken it a bit. Turned out very well. The flavor gets even better after it sits for a while. I ate it with baby spinach leaves for lunch and for dinner I had it on toasted wheat bread. Thank you, Katie! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Yum. This is almost exactly the recipe I use for chicken salad--I usually add diced celery, too. It is good with or without the cream, with or without the celery, but always must have the red pepper. it is amazing, and simple. I've used poached chicken, and I've used canned chicken (kirkland). It's really, really good! Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very interesting recipe, one I didn’t understand correctly until I started to prepare it. I should know better than to proceed on a recipe before reading it through! The idea of the red pepper really appealed to me (I took a shortcut and microwaved it) - but what threw me was when I (finally) noticed that the chicken was to be blended in the food processor along with the red pepper, mayo and cream. With all respect to the submitter, that did NOT appeal to me, although I understand that foods you grew up with you don’t necessarily think of as odd when others not familiar with it might. For me it was – I envisioned, basically, homemade baby food. So instead, I pureed the red pepper, mayonnaise and cream and it made an exquisitely beautiful sauce – but it was pretty blah tasting. I doctored it up with some garlic salt, a shot of Worcestershire sauce and some chopped green onion and not only was it an instant fix, it was wonderful. I mixed that sauce up with the chicken and I had the chunkiness and flavor I desired. I wanted something a little more interesting than just sandwiching it between two slices of white bread so I used it along with strips of bacon, fresh baby spinach and tortillas to make wraps – and they were AWESOME good! To complete the meal I served them with a hearty bowl of chicken minestrone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is really good. I doubled the recipe and roasted the pepper in the oven (sliced in half, layed skin side up on a cookie sheet and broiled about 15 minutes then put in a bowl and covered with a towel for about 15 min to steam then peeled off the skin). I really like the consistency of the pureed chicken. It's a nice change of pace from a lunchmeat sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This is something I do all the time. I brine skin-on bone-in chicken breasts in salted water overnight. Doesn't have to be real salty, but the results are very flavorful and moist chicken. Drain, pat dry. Rub with olive oil, sprinkle with Cavendars Greek Seasoning and, here's the kicker, slip 2 or 3 whole basil leaves under the skin. Line a cookie sheet with foil, place the chicken on a wire rack on the cookie sheet. Roast in a preheated 425F oven for about 1 hour, depending on the size of the breasts. Remove, tent with foil, and let rest until cooled. Remove the skin, debone, chop. I love adding roasted red bell pepper, golden raisins, and depending on my mood, maybe some curry powder, maybe not. A touch of honey is nice, garlic powder, black pepper. Just play with it. The combinations are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I have made this about 5 times now, and it is now a part of my recipe portfolio. My compliments are to the submitter, and too the reviewers for giving great suggestions for modifying the recipe when necessary. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Oh my, this is so good! I love the simplicity of this recipe. I actually boiled my bell peppers together with the chicken, removing them in 10 minutes as the recipe stated. I had this on French Bread Rolls to Die For (recipe also on this site) and it was simply delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe Katie. Definitely one I'll be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These were quite good, although I found that it was a bit dry, so I will probably add a little extra mayo or sour cream next time. But I enjoyed the flavors and it was certainly simple to throw together- I stuffed into little pita halves and it was the perfect lunch to take for work. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States