Chicken and Red Bell Pepper Salad Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Sometimes the simplest recipes turn out to be some of the best! I love chicken salad and I had two leftover herb grilled chicken breasts and a lonely red bell pepper that needed to be used up before grocery night. What a pleasant surprise this little recipe turned out to be! I cooked the bell pepper as instructed and put everything into the food processor along with the salt, pepper, as well as a bit of garlic and onion powders. I didn't have any heavy cream so I used half and half with light mayo (added a little more than called for). I let this chill for an hour before serving. This chicken salad was creamy and delicious. It was perfect on melba toast and next time I might try it in a wrap! Thanks for a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Don't smash the chicken too much, leave larger chunks...tastes yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
If I hadn't read the reviews, I wouldn't have tried this. I'm so glad I did! It hasn't even had a chance to get cold yet, but I already had a sandwich, and it's very good. I do think I will add a little garlic and a bit more mayo or sour cream. My cream was expired, so I used a bit of fat-free half-and-half (didn't think of sour cream till it was too late), and it's good. I'm using light mayo as well, and it's still very tasty. I'm so tempted to have another sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I love this recipe, my husband and I have made it a few times now and it is so easy, tasty and refreshing. We roast our red peppers on our gas oven and saute some onion in garlic to go in it. And instead of heavy cream we use sour cream like some of the other reviewers suggested. We put it in the flavored wraps you can get at the grocery store (like spinach or tomato basil) and they are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
love chicken salad and red peppers, but this did not work for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was ok. I actually found it quite bland. I ended up adding a bit of minced onion to the mix to perk it up. But I don't think it's a recipe I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
got this recipe in my inbox and tried it the same day. It was very good. Just added a few seasonings, like garlic powder and roasted red peppers. Will take it to my next luncheon at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This was very easy to make, and since it is very basic, you can add whatever you like to spice it up a little bit. The perfect recipe to fill those hungry mouths if you don't have many ingredients at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This is great! Perfect for a appetizer or luncheon. Used roasted chicken breasts. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This is something I do all the time. I brine skin-on bone-in chicken breasts in salted water overnight. Doesn't have to be real salty, but the results are very flavorful and moist chicken. Drain, pat dry. Rub with olive oil, sprinkle with Cavendars Greek Seasoning and, here's the kicker, slip 2 or 3 whole basil leaves under the skin. Line a cookie sheet with foil, place the chicken on a wire rack on the cookie sheet. Roast in a preheated 425F oven for about 1 hour, depending on the size of the breasts. Remove, tent with foil, and let rest until cooled. Remove the skin, debone, chop. I love adding roasted red bell pepper, golden raisins, and depending on my mood, maybe some curry powder, maybe not. A touch of honey is nice, garlic powder, black pepper. Just play with it. The combinations are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States