Chicken and Red Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This was really easy to make & a huge hit with all the picky eaters in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Ok, so I started making this recipe, used roasted chicken, red beans, grated cheese and 1 cup of sour cream, used green onions instead of plain onions, added a small can of corn, a small can of enchiladas sauce, 1/2 jar of salsa, jalapeno peppers, mixed all ingredients in a bowl, filled the tortillas, topped with a blend of TexMex Kraft cheese, in the oven at 325 for 50 minutes. Ok, I agree, it's not the same recipe but the base was great, I just added what I felt like having... which is what is great about this recipe, you can make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Other than adding a heaping tablespoon of jalapeno peppers (canned), I followed the recipe to the T and to my surprise, it was EZ, extremely tasty, and best of all, went over huge with the fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by texaspixie
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This is a great recipe because you can make it with what you have in your pantry. I roasted a chicken in the crock pot and used that. I also used a can of tomatoes with green chiles (rotel) that I pureed in the blender with chili powder. I didn't have pepper jack cheese so I used a combination of american cheese slices, fat free cream cheese and mozzarella. It was still very yummy. Really, this recipe is great because you can take it and make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texaspixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
These were great, but I did make changes. I halved the recipe since it was only me and my husband. I used pinto beans instead of kidney beans. I used monterrey jack instead of pepper jack because I didn't have any of the latter. Diced the half onion instead of slicing some of it. I used one 15 oz jar enchilada sauce instead of chicken broth and tomato sauce, and omitted sour cream since I didn't have any. Next time I'd use a smaller baking dish since I halved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I took another reviewer's advice (fellow Floridian!) and used enchilada sauce instead of the tomato sauce and chicken broth. I subbed cheddar for half the pepper jack and used chili beans. Everyone wolfed it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great way to use up leftover rotisserie chicken. We loved it. I used a 15 oz can of enchilada sauce (try an authentic brand, not old el paso)simmered with onion and a can of tomatoes. Then threw in some corn too as well as listed ingredients. I also quick-fried the tortillas for a few seconds in a skiller with a bit of oil, but not sure if this is worth the trouble. Gives them a very nice crispy chewy texture but may be lost after dousing in enchilada sauce! Either way we loved it and will be trying again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was great! I am not a good cook, but I stuck with it and it was delicious. It is a bit spicy because of the pepperjack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
used trader joes enchilada sauce. omitted tomato sauce. Added cilantro, chili powder and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
We really enjoyed this. We fought over the leftovers, which in my house it is usually a fight to make us eat leftovers. We will enjoy this dish again soon! Didn't need to change a thing, it is great the way it is. My husband adds spicy pepper cheese to his to give it an extra flare. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States