Chicken and Red Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2006
I boiled a whole chicken for this recipe then used some of that for this. You couldn't taste the beans very well, so I might add another half can or so next time. I didn't read the directions very carefully and added all the cheese to the chicken mixture. To speed this up, you could use tomato paste instead of boiling down the tomato sauce. Yum, yum! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was a great recipe! I could not find the corn tortillas in the larger size & the package I bought only had 10 in it so I was able to make due with th e 10. They were stuffed full & the with extra meat I just filled in between the rolled tortillas. I took the advice another reviewer & used the tomato paste instead of sauce but I thought it was too thick so I found a can of enchilada sauce & used 1/2 of the can to loosed it up a bit. I garnished with cilantro & then had black olives,lettuce,sour cream, onions, salsa & pickled jalepenos on the table for the family to add what they wanted. I think it could've used some heat but since I wanted the whole famly to enjoy I opted for adding the heat at the table. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Lovely! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was excellent. These were the best enchiladas I've ever made. The only thing I'd change would be to maybe add a little salt and pepper for flavor. I loved the sauce and made it again added a little parmesan cheese and served it to guests as a low fat tomato alfredo sauce. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I actually love this recipe but have made some personal changes. I love using rotiserrie chicken; saves so much time. I found El Paso Enchilada Sauce in a can at my local supermarket. I use flour tortillas because I have never tried corn; I am more used to using flour ones. Sargento's has a low-fat Mexican shredded cheese blend that works great with this dish. I use black beans and corn; they are delicioso!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula DiGiacomo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
We love this recipe. We got really good reviews from this. We had friends over for this and they said it was great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micheal Miller

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This meal is great and I have cooked it many times now. The only change is instead of using tomato sauce and chicken broth, I just buy a can of premade enchilada sauce. Being in Florida, we have a lot of great Latino products at the grocery. It saves time, and the flavor is a bit bolder. I also mix some of the sauce in with the chicken, bean, and cheese mixture. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I made this recipe as is, except to add the whole rotisserie chicken (shredded) and I added a 4 oz. can of chopped hot green peppers. This is my favorite enchilada recipe now and I've tried a whole lot and some that are much more time-intensive than this. This is a winner. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA6
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was really good and even my picky kids loved it. I think next time I would increase the amount of chicken and slightly reduce the amount of sauce as there was quite a bit left over...other than that, this was a great way to use up leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was SO unbelievably good. It took a bit longer than I expected (2+ hrs), but it was enthralling, and worth every minute. The taste was just perfect. I did add chili powder, diced spicy green pepper, and a splash of cayenne to give it a little kick. But there's something about the way this sauce is prepared that just seals the deal on this recipe. To save time going forward, I'll prepare the sauce the night before. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States