Chicken and Red Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This is a good base recipe, but would have been a little too bland for us without some tweaking. I used red beans and after tasting the mixture, it wasn't too flavorful. I added a healthy dose of cumin, some lime-infused salt, and a few shakes of taco seasoning. I used tomato paste instead of sauce, added 2 cloves of garlic, lots of chili powder, cumin, and black pepper. Turned out very well. I cut the recipe down to 4 servings and still got 10 enchiladas that were stuffed to the max. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was really good and even my picky kids loved it. I think next time I would increase the amount of chicken and slightly reduce the amount of sauce as there was quite a bit left over...other than that, this was a great way to use up leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was a great recipe! I could not find the corn tortillas in the larger size & the package I bought only had 10 in it so I was able to make due with th e 10. They were stuffed full & the with extra meat I just filled in between the rolled tortillas. I took the advice another reviewer & used the tomato paste instead of sauce but I thought it was too thick so I found a can of enchilada sauce & used 1/2 of the can to loosed it up a bit. I garnished with cilantro & then had black olives,lettuce,sour cream, onions, salsa & pickled jalepenos on the table for the family to add what they wanted. I think it could've used some heat but since I wanted the whole famly to enjoy I opted for adding the heat at the table. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I made this recipe as is, except to add the whole rotisserie chicken (shredded) and I added a 4 oz. can of chopped hot green peppers. This is my favorite enchilada recipe now and I've tried a whole lot and some that are much more time-intensive than this. This is a winner. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA6
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This meal is great and I have cooked it many times now. The only change is instead of using tomato sauce and chicken broth, I just buy a can of premade enchilada sauce. Being in Florida, we have a lot of great Latino products at the grocery. It saves time, and the flavor is a bit bolder. I also mix some of the sauce in with the chicken, bean, and cheese mixture. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good but ended up being a bit more time consuming to prepare than I anticipated. Very tasty and actually low fat and nutritious (except for the cheese....yum!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Lovely! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
We love this recipe. We got really good reviews from this. We had friends over for this and they said it was great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micheal Miller

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I actually love this recipe but have made some personal changes. I love using rotiserrie chicken; saves so much time. I found El Paso Enchilada Sauce in a can at my local supermarket. I use flour tortillas because I have never tried corn; I am more used to using flour ones. Sargento's has a low-fat Mexican shredded cheese blend that works great with this dish. I use black beans and corn; they are delicioso!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula DiGiacomo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eliza
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This turned out to be very yummy. I used rotisserie chicken and the only thing I did differently is I used less onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States