Chicken and Red Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was SO unbelievably good. It took a bit longer than I expected (2+ hrs), but it was enthralling, and worth every minute. The taste was just perfect. I did add chili powder, diced spicy green pepper, and a splash of cayenne to give it a little kick. But there's something about the way this sauce is prepared that just seals the deal on this recipe. To save time going forward, I'll prepare the sauce the night before. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe. I used a left over rotisserie chicken. I did not put enough tomato sauce mixture on the bottom of my 13x9 pan and the enchiladas got stuck. I was afraid they would come out soggy. Next time I would put more sauce on the bottom of the pan and a little more on top of the enchiladas. Othere than that they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
As a lot of other reviewers mentioned, the sauce would have been very bland as written. I added cumin, garlic powder, pepper and some red pepper flakes and we still felt it was missing something. The sauce also turned out very thin for me... next time I'd use half the amount of chicken broth, maybe less. With a few modifications, these have the potential to be quite tasty. Will try again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This is a good base recipe, but would have been a little too bland for us without some tweaking. I used red beans and after tasting the mixture, it wasn't too flavorful. I added a healthy dose of cumin, some lime-infused salt, and a few shakes of taco seasoning. I used tomato paste instead of sauce, added 2 cloves of garlic, lots of chili powder, cumin, and black pepper. Turned out very well. I cut the recipe down to 4 servings and still got 10 enchiladas that were stuffed to the max. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was really good and even my picky kids loved it. I think next time I would increase the amount of chicken and slightly reduce the amount of sauce as there was quite a bit left over...other than that, this was a great way to use up leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was a great recipe! I could not find the corn tortillas in the larger size & the package I bought only had 10 in it so I was able to make due with th e 10. They were stuffed full & the with extra meat I just filled in between the rolled tortillas. I took the advice another reviewer & used the tomato paste instead of sauce but I thought it was too thick so I found a can of enchilada sauce & used 1/2 of the can to loosed it up a bit. I garnished with cilantro & then had black olives,lettuce,sour cream, onions, salsa & pickled jalepenos on the table for the family to add what they wanted. I think it could've used some heat but since I wanted the whole famly to enjoy I opted for adding the heat at the table. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I made this recipe as is, except to add the whole rotisserie chicken (shredded) and I added a 4 oz. can of chopped hot green peppers. This is my favorite enchilada recipe now and I've tried a whole lot and some that are much more time-intensive than this. This is a winner. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This meal is great and I have cooked it many times now. The only change is instead of using tomato sauce and chicken broth, I just buy a can of premade enchilada sauce. Being in Florida, we have a lot of great Latino products at the grocery. It saves time, and the flavor is a bit bolder. I also mix some of the sauce in with the chicken, bean, and cheese mixture. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ambrose Rokitowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good but ended up being a bit more time consuming to prepare than I anticipated. Very tasty and actually low fat and nutritious (except for the cheese....yum!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Lovely! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Fiesta-Ready Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Quick and easy creamy chicken enchiladas are sure to be a family favorite.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States