Chicken and Red Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This was a nice spin on an old favorite. Some changes I have made... I grilled chicken breasts and shredded them and instead of tomato sauce I use a can of enchilada sauce and simmer it with the sauteed onions and broth. My family prefers the kidney beans to be slightly mashed but a little chunky. Another portion of a can of enchiladas sauce may be needed for the top with shredded cheddar cheese added the last 5-8 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma LeGeyt Meligonis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Yummy! I used the recipe as a starting point. The adjustments I made were to use about 3/4 can black beans and a cup each of corn and salsa. I mixed them with the chicken and cheese. Instead of tomato sauce and chicken broth I used a can of enchilada sauce. The rest of the recipe was as written, but I did not top with the remaining cheese. I garnished with green onions and black olives. This basic recipe is fantastic to use as an idea starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This was really easy to make & a huge hit with all the picky eaters in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Ok, so I started making this recipe, used roasted chicken, red beans, grated cheese and 1 cup of sour cream, used green onions instead of plain onions, added a small can of corn, a small can of enchiladas sauce, 1/2 jar of salsa, jalapeno peppers, mixed all ingredients in a bowl, filled the tortillas, topped with a blend of TexMex Kraft cheese, in the oven at 325 for 50 minutes. Ok, I agree, it's not the same recipe but the base was great, I just added what I felt like having... which is what is great about this recipe, you can make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Other than adding a heaping tablespoon of jalapeno peppers (canned), I followed the recipe to the T and to my surprise, it was EZ, extremely tasty, and best of all, went over huge with the fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by texaspixie
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This is a great recipe because you can make it with what you have in your pantry. I roasted a chicken in the crock pot and used that. I also used a can of tomatoes with green chiles (rotel) that I pureed in the blender with chili powder. I didn't have pepper jack cheese so I used a combination of american cheese slices, fat free cream cheese and mozzarella. It was still very yummy. Really, this recipe is great because you can take it and make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texaspixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
These were great, but I did make changes. I halved the recipe since it was only me and my husband. I used pinto beans instead of kidney beans. I used monterrey jack instead of pepper jack because I didn't have any of the latter. Diced the half onion instead of slicing some of it. I used one 15 oz jar enchilada sauce instead of chicken broth and tomato sauce, and omitted sour cream since I didn't have any. Next time I'd use a smaller baking dish since I halved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I took another reviewer's advice (fellow Floridian!) and used enchilada sauce instead of the tomato sauce and chicken broth. I subbed cheddar for half the pepper jack and used chili beans. Everyone wolfed it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great way to use up leftover rotisserie chicken. We loved it. I used a 15 oz can of enchilada sauce (try an authentic brand, not old el paso)simmered with onion and a can of tomatoes. Then threw in some corn too as well as listed ingredients. I also quick-fried the tortillas for a few seconds in a skiller with a bit of oil, but not sure if this is worth the trouble. Gives them a very nice crispy chewy texture but may be lost after dousing in enchilada sauce! Either way we loved it and will be trying again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was great! I am not a good cook, but I stuck with it and it was delicious. It is a bit spicy because of the pepperjack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States