Chicken and Pumpkin Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I followed the recipe and it turned out perfectly. The flavors blended wonderfully. Definitely one of my favorites. I made my own red sauce (used lots of fresh basil) and my own pumpkin cream soup. Totally worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melistan
Home Town: Dalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bishkek, Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I was frightened by the thought of pumpkin in my lasagna, but I had some left over pumpkin puree, as well as some lasagna noodles, so i figured--why not?! I had complete success using caned pumpkin instead of the cream of pumpkin soup (subbed it evenly). I also made a quick spaghetti sauce out of some tomato sauce and a few seasonings with help of this website. I only had a mixed cheese blend on hand, and it worked wonderfully. I left it covered for the first 30 min, then uncovered and let brown for the last 5. This is a great way to sneak in some veggies on your kids. It's not overly pumpkin-y, just enough to know that it's there. My toddler ate this up, so it'll be on hand for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Buchholz
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I was Really Unsure about this dish, but it sounded different, so i finally made it. oh it was so good! i made people at my work that gave me a really fun look when i mention it, to try and they stopped give me a funny look lol everyone i made try it loved it. it was really creamy. i did add the seasoning you add to the pumpkin puree. it was really tasty and made it's way into my cook book :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Buchholz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I omitted the chicken & instead made a mash of steamed pumpkin, sweet potato (kumara in New Zealand). Then mixed in some steamed broccoli. Truly a pumpkin lasagna, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was completely delicious. To be fair, I made some changes - I used alfredo instead of red sauce, and I added zucchini and diced tomatoes between the layers. The flavors melded nicely, and it was warm and satisfying, a good mix of savory flavors plus enough veggies to feel good about it being a one-dish meal. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This was very yummy, I love pumpkin. Here in NZ cream of pumpkin soup is readily available (I don't know why it would only be in specialty supermarkets) and I was looking for some ideas to incorporate all of the cans I had of condensed pumpkin soup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Every place we go we get a phone call ahead of time... can you PLEASE bring a chicken and pumpkin lasagna,,,, I make my own pumpkin soup now as it is never in the stores in Ma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I swapped out the red sauce for a jar of alfredo and threw in some extra seasonings, seasoning salt, garlic & onion powder....it was wonderful. Oh and I to just used a can of pure pumpkin in place of the soup. I have already shared this recipe with others they loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Very good! Made with homemade pumpkin-puree (which is lighter in texture and taste than canned IMHO), and that way, I couldn't taste the pumpkin at all, neither could my husband (will likely work pumpkin into our tomato sauces often now! woohoo!). Will probably try this recipe with canned pumpkin puree when we don't have pumpkins on hand, as we do not have access to canned pumpkin soup. If there is a pumpkin flavor then, since my husband doesn't care for pumpkin, we'll cut back on the canned pumpkin a bit. I'll try to remember to post here if that is the case. // Didn't have lasagna noodles in the pantry, but had extra manicotti on hand, so broke up the dry manicotti and layered the broken *dry* pieces in instead of the lasagna noodles. Otherwise, made as written. Will include spinach next time, but didn't have any on hand the first time we made this recipe. The recipe is on target in that the chicken should be chopped prior to cooking, IMHO. My son cooked the chicken for me and left out that step, and the texture of chicken cooked then chopped is quite different, IMHO - FYI. Anyway - Thanks for the great idea, Sarah - we'll be inspired by your pumpkin in red sauce often! (now to ponder whether or not to try it in alfredo sauce as some reviewers did....... think, think, think....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2000
MY FAMILY REALLY ENJOYED THIS VERY EASY TO MAKE RECIPE. I HAD TO USE REAL PUMPKIN AS I COULD NOT OBTAIN A TIN OF PUMPKIN SOUP BUT I DO NOT THINK IT AFFECTED THE OUTCOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States