Chicken and Pumpkin Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I just made this recipe tonight and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Delicious! Used extra broth and it came out like a soup. Will follow recipe as is next time. *Note: The extra broth was nice leftover. Makes a ton- half recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chipie
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made it exactly as directed except I did not have garbanzo beans so I substituted a can of black beans. This is delicious and healthy. I used precut sugar pumpkin so prep time was minimal. Will definitely make this a regular. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This recipe was just ok. I didn't bother with the saute pan steps and put it all in the crockpot for 5 hours (1-2 hours were on high). It cooked fine and much easier. Overall, I felt it lacked some flavor, but we definitely ate it. Not likely something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Marginal at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Just made this dish for my family and they loved it. I took the advice from previous comments. I added garlic, 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, 1 tsp of brown sugar, and I substituted one of the diced tomatoes for a can of green chilies and diced tomatoes for a bit more kick. No added water was needed. I roasted my pumpkin whole in the oven for 45 minutes to an hour. It was much easier to cut in half, take out the seeds, and scoop out the meat of the pumpkin. Since I didn't have much time I cooked this recipe on the stove. It was done in 30 minutes. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This was a delicious meal. My entire family enjoyed. This recipe was outside the box for us...I've never prepared a pumpkin dish, and so I was skeptical. My 16, 14 and 8 year olds had seconds, not to mention hubby. I did things a little differently: I put the boneless dark meat in the crock for about 3 hours before I added the rest b/c a friend was bringing me the tomatoes and pumpkin and hadn't arrived yet. Then I followed others suggestions and added a little less cinnamon and some garlic powder. Also, I didn't have coriander and I halved to olive oil. I chopped approx. 5 roma tomatoes since I didn't have canned and we live where some sort of green pumpkin/squash (calabasa) is sold in chunks, so I used that instead of orange pumpkin. The mixture wasn't really soupy, so no need for the cornstarch addition. I just spooned the mixture into bowls and served with bread on the side. I would say this recipe could be thrown in the crock in any way, and it wouldn't matter...it would still be delicious in the end. This is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Bredben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great dish but prep time is WAY more than 30 minutes. Maybe I didn't have a sharp enough knife, but chopping up a pumpkin and squash is much harder than it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
My ended up very bland and not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My husband and I liked this recipe. I made it per the instructions and put it over quinoa instead of noodles or rice. I will put it over that again in the future. We felt it was missing flavor and that the cinnamon was over powering. I'm not sure what to add, but I will add something in the future and I will reduce the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp or 3/4 tsp. Great use of pumkin and a different spin on goulash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States