Chicken and Pumpkin Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was a great way to use my leftover pumpkins from Halloween. I didn't have chicken, so I used pork shoulder instead; also, I cooked this dish overnight on my slow cooker's low setting for 8 hours. After it cooked, I added a little black pepper to taste. Otherwise, I followed this recipe and it came out great! Great flavor and a warm, hearty meal on a cold day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I just threw everything in the crockpot, raw chicken and all, and cooked on low for 5 hours. Although I did use 1/2 can pure pumpkin instead and left out the tomatoes, coriander, and cornstarch b/c I didn't have it. I added 1/2 cup water instead of 1/4 cup. Added some garlic and cayenne pepper. So yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I was worried about the amount of liquid (specifically the lack of) in the beginning but it turned out great. Only thing I will change next time is use less cinnamon because I am sensitive to it. Otherwise, a great dish for a cool Autumn Sunday evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this recipe as stated, and it was delicious. I used home canned tomatoes, not drained. The only thing I'd change is cut the pumpkin in smaller cubes. Cutting and peeling the pumpkin was a drag, but worth it. Also, it's been mentioned people used leftover Halloween pumpkins. Really, sugar pie pumpkins is what you'd want to cook with for best results. In a pinch, cubed butternut squash would be a good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This was delicious! I loaded up on tons of extra fresh ginger and simmered it on "low" all day (8 hours). This caused some of the pumpkin to break down and the ginger flavor to be strong but not spicy. I served this for guests and it was a smashing success. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was very good. I did it in the slow cooker and served it over couscous and it was hearty, healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This recipe was AWESOME! The only exception I made was instead of using pumpkin, I used sweet potatoes. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a T and it was so declicious. My whole family loved it! A very fall kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lackawaxen, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lords Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was delicious and not too hard, even for a horrible cook like me. I was not brave enough to attempt to cook a real pumpkin, so I used canned pumpkin based on another reviewer's suggestion, and it was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Really good and hearty. Loved the use of pumpkin in this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I made this recipe exactly how you said and it is amazing! Very healthy and filling. It also made the house smell great! The only thing I didn't like was having to peel the pumpkins...I don't have the best peeler so it was a pain, but definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States